More Reviews
REVIEWS Far Cry 4 Review
The open world of Far Cry 4 is wondrous, but is the beauty of Kyrat only skin-deep?

World of Warcraft: Warlords of D Review
Does Blizzard's latest expansion breathe new life into the 10 year-old franchise, or is this MMO finally starting to show its age?
More Previews
PREVIEWS Silence: The Whispered World II Preview
With its absolutely gorgeous sequel, Daedalic aims to create a mid-range difficulty adventure title that will expand the genre to a larger audiences.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Geometry Wars 3: Dimensions
Release date: 11/25/14

Kingdom Hearts 2.5 HD Remix
Release date: 12/02/14

Guilty Gear Xrd -SIGN-
Release date: 12/16/14

Kalimba
Release date: 12/17/14


LATEST FEATURES With Two Paths to Walk This Fall, I Recommend Assassins Play AC Unity Over AC Rogue
For fans of this series, it'll be a decision based on hardware. For enthusiasts, returning to the brand's roots will prove enticing.

Nintendo Download November 2014 - Updating Each Week
If you've got credit on Nintendo's digital eShop service or expect to receive a gift card this holiday season, start making your list with our weekly updates.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES Xbox Downloads October 2014 - Updating Each Week
Microsoft's Xbox One console continues an Xbox Live revolution started over a decade ago. Here's hoping Summer of Arcade makes it to the platform next year.

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP Master_Craig
Welcome Home - PAX AUS 2014
By Master_Craig
Posted on 11/18/14
Last night I returned home from PAX AUS 2014. Long story short, it wasn't perfect, but it was quite possibly the best weekend I've had this year. It was a lot of fun. If you'd like to continue reading, the long story is just below. Buckle up. This is gonna be...

X36 Flight Controller and Throttle System Review

Shawn_Sanders By:
Shawn_Sanders
05/01/00
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Joystick 
PLAYERS  
PUBLISHER  
DEVELOPER  
RELEASE DATE  

Bogey on your six! Bogey on your six!

When it comes to "trying to get immersed" in my video games, I'm as serious as a pack of 3rd graders in search of the last Pokemon card. I don't mess around. And I feel that controllers have a large part to play in that immersive experience. Who wants to play a game like Starlancer or Tachyon using their keyboard? No one.

Like all space combat junkies, I want a bloody cockpit in my living room, with all the dials, switches, levers and buttons you would expect to see. "What? In your dreams!" you say. Well, listen up non-believers. The folks over at Saitek have the makings of a cockpit with their USB Gameport version of the X36 Flight Controller and Throttle System. Using the new USB option, let's take it for a spin.

Installing the X36 is easier than Cartman's mom. All you need to do is install the Saitek Extensions software, provided on the CD-ROM. Now connect the throttle to the flight control stick using the 15-pin connector. Then plug the USB connector to a USB slot on your PC. There, you're finished and ready to go.

The original X36 gave gamers a considerable amount of programming freedom. However, Saitek has one-upped themselves. The Extensions software now allows each and every trigger, switch, and knob to be configured. For most games, this can empower potential pilots with the chance to cast off the shackles of their bulky keyboards and experience complete control through the X36. Is this not every virtual pilot's dream?

The Saitek Extensions software also comes complete with drivers, Internet Explorer, Direct X, and Adobe Acrobat Reader. A very well-rounded package.

The design of the X36 is quite nice. It has a slightly sci-fi look, yet borrowing heavily from the control system of a contemporary fighter plane. This gives the X36 a relatively authentic look and feel.

So far I have flown very successful missions in Starlancer, Tachyon, and Freespace 2, on and off line. If I didn't know any better, I would say that the new USB version of the X36 has enhanced precision over the original. In any case, this puppy is accurate. I was even able to play Soldier of Fortune proficiently, using the throttle for forward and backward movements. Very cool!

The X36 does have a few minor flaws. One is in the design of the launch button. To fire or launch a missile, you leave the flap covering the launch button down. Then you flip the flap up when you don't want to use it. This is just stupid and completely pointless, as it requires you to do some sort of weird thumb calisthenics to get the darn thing down again in order to use it. Why not place a button underneath the switch that could only be accessed by flipping the flap up? That's the way it is in the movies. Don't concept designers and sketch artist check out the movies?

Another of the X36's misgivings is the continued absence of Force Feedback. This was easily excused the first time around, since Force Feedback had no substantial presence then. But now? Come on, Saitek! Why doesn't she shake for me? We gamers would love you for it.

At any rate, the X36 is a dynamite Flight Control System. I highly recommend it. Initially, you may find that it offers more than you need. But spend some time with it, and I bet you will find a way to map all those knobs and buttons.
A- Revolution report card
    Reviews by other members
    No member reviews for the game.


More from the Game Revolution Network




comments powered by Disqus

 


More information about X36 Flight Controller and Throttle System