More Reviews
REVIEWS Far Cry 4 Review
The open world of Far Cry 4 is wondrous, but is the beauty of Kyrat only skin-deep?

World of Warcraft: Warlords of D Review
Does Blizzard's latest expansion breathe new life into the 10 year-old franchise, or is this MMO finally starting to show its age?
More Previews
PREVIEWS Silence: The Whispered World II Preview
With its absolutely gorgeous sequel, Daedalic aims to create a mid-range difficulty adventure title that will expand the genre to a larger audiences.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Geometry Wars 3: Dimensions
Release date: 11/25/14

Kingdom Hearts 2.5 HD Remix
Release date: 12/02/14

Guilty Gear Xrd -SIGN-
Release date: 12/16/14

Kalimba
Release date: 12/17/14


LATEST FEATURES With Two Paths to Walk This Fall, I Recommend Assassins Play AC Unity Over AC Rogue
For fans of this series, it'll be a decision based on hardware. For enthusiasts, returning to the brand's roots will prove enticing.

Nintendo Download November 2014 - Updating Each Week
If you've got credit on Nintendo's digital eShop service or expect to receive a gift card this holiday season, start making your list with our weekly updates.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES Xbox Downloads October 2014 - Updating Each Week
Microsoft's Xbox One console continues an Xbox Live revolution started over a decade ago. Here's hoping Summer of Arcade makes it to the platform next year.

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP Master_Craig
Welcome Home - PAX AUS 2014
By Master_Craig
Posted on 11/18/14
Last night I returned home from PAX AUS 2014. Long story short, it wasn't perfect, but it was quite possibly the best weekend I've had this year. It was a lot of fun. If you'd like to continue reading, the long story is just below. Buckle up. This is gonna be...

Pro Evolution Soccer 2012 Review

Devin_Charles By:
Devin_Charles
10/10/11
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Sports 
PLAYERS 1- 8 
PUBLISHER Konami 
DEVELOPER Konami 
RELEASE DATE  
E Contains No Descriptors

What do these ratings mean?

Play some football... kicks!


El fútbol es uno de los mejores deportivos del mundo. Es un juego emocionante y excitante, quién podría pedir por más? Oh, sorry, I’m getting a little ahead of myself. It’s hard not to feel a bit of the passion from these international sport games. As I was saying, though, football soccer is definitely thrilling and exciting. So it's unfortunate that the United States has one of the smallest football fan base in the world. Despite the disinterest, video games like FIFA and I guess Pro Evolution Soccer too seem to sell quite well here in the U.S.

Pro Evolution Soccer or PES has now been around, quietly, for over a decade. Living in the shadow of its much more successful competitor, EA’s FIFA Soccer, PES 12 is looking to make heads turn. And developer Konami, have done just that. But instead of turning towards the game, people might just want to look away. It’s really not that bad, but after the main course FIFA served me up this year, Gooooal! Or was it? has left the dessert plate a little empty.


Playing this game is like driving Ms. Daisy; everything is slowed down and explained as if it were teaching a preschooler. Okay, Konami, I get that your controls are different than every other football game. No, I don’t want to try them out in the “skills challenge”. Yeah, yeah, thanks for all the help. Can I play a match now? What do you mean I have to create an avatar? Fine… now can I play? Create a character?! AHHH! I struggled for an hour just to get into an actual match.

Once I finally got into a game, though, I was all smiles. Player introductions, national anthems, chanting crowdit gives a full taste of a real football game. Then the kick-off got underway and my smile turned into one of those back-slash grins people like to send in texts. Now I’m not a graphics snob, but the movement engine is funky. Players don’t seem to flow when running around with or without the ball. It feels like the computer.. has... to... think... of... each... step... before... taking... it. On the upside, the animation for scoring a goal is awesome—mechanically the best graphics you'll get hereand the selection of celebrations to choose from is staggering.

What PES 2012 lacks in quality it sure makes up in quantity. The different modes include exhibition, a few different season types, on-line play, and Football Life. Much like FIFA’s “Be a Pro”, Football Life is geared around controlling one player to give you a footballer’s pro experience. Locked to a character of your creation, you must grind out that player’s career.


Starting off at the bottom rung and working up to being one of the world’s best, you play in the hopes of winning and finally retiring as a sure Hall of Famer. During seasons, your player is even subbed in and out of games like a real rotation. The down part is you can’t skip the time your player is on the bench, only fast forward. This gets boring fast. Now would be the perfect time to play fetch with Woofy, as you wait until your next tag in.

The biggest addition to this year’s title is the ability to control two players at once. Now, while dribbling the ball with one player, you have the option to move around another player at the same time. This can be tricky, but if mastered, it's a handy skill that will result is some fast break, on-goal shots. Fortunately, you may turn this on or off depending on your preference.



Konami doesn’t have all of the exclusive rights to trademarks like FIFA has, so don’t expect to see all the official branding you may want to see. Some kits, stadiums, players, and even leagues are missing. I searched high and low, but not even the M.L.S. is featured. We can be honest, though: Who actually uses the M.L.S. when picking teams and leagues?

To put it frankly, unless you are some die-hard, old school fan of Pro Evolution Soccer, save your pennies and stick with FIFA. PES 2012 isn't a terrible game at all, but head-to-head, it's not the one controlling the ball; it puts on a show that your little brother might like. But for now the curtains should stay closed until the production grabs an identity. Cristiano Ronaldo is on the cover. though... that has to mean something... something...

Review is based off the PS3 version. Konami provided the review copy.

B+ Revolution report card
  • Plenty playable content
  • Fantastic scoring celebrations
  • Unsmooth player movement
  • Lengthy creation set-up
  • Lack of official licensing
    Reviews by other members
    No member reviews for the game.


More from the Game Revolution Network




comments powered by Disqus

 


More information about Pro Evolution Soccer 2012
Also known as: PES 2012