A Guide To Dragon Quest Heroes 2’s Vocations And Their Best Skills

Dragon Quest Heroes II is not your typical Dynasty Warriors-like game. It is an entire 30 hour adventure wrapped up in the formula of Omega Force’s most popular series. Being a complete action-RPG with an open world to explore, there is a lot of depth to be found within its systems.

Unfortunately, the game doesn’t do a terribly good job of explaining all its most intricate details, leaving the player to figure it all out on their own. 

This is where we come in. Dragon Quest Heroes II gives you the ability to change your vocation at any time, a feature not found in the first game. Your vocation is essentially the class that your player has. Each of the two main characters, Lazarel and Teresa, can conveniently switch between them at any point. Every vocation has its own skill tree and skills used in combat, so the choices can be a little overwhelming. Here are some of our recommendations for each vocation to get you pointed in the right direction.

Unlocking Vocation Switching

Switching between vocations isn’t immediately available. You have to advance partway through the story to be able to make use of this very important ability. Upon your return after the battle with Cesar around level 12 or so, you can then go to the inn in Accordia and speak with the Alltrades Abbot there to change your vocation. 

Like some of Square Enix’s other RPG’s, each vocation has its own level so switching to a new one requires going back to level one, but your old vocation’s level will remain the same for easy switching back any time. Vocation have skills you can unlock that apply to every vocation, such as more HP, Strength, etc. These should be your absolute priority. After that, you can focus on the more exclusive abilities like the ones mentioned below.

Warrior Overview

The Warrior vocation is one that everyone will have to play no matter what, being the default for both Lazarel and Teresa. From the tutorial up until you unlock the ability to switch, this will be what you’ll be using for nearly five hours of game time. Thankfully, the Warrior stands well on its own. Notable for its even balance between attack and defense, the Warrior is perfect for newcomers. Unfortunately, it lacks in the ranged department, comprised solely of close-up attacks and skills.

Recommended Stat: 

Resilience or Strength. Depending on your preference, focusing on either maxing out attack or defense should be your primary focus.​

Initial Skills:

  • Lazarel – Multislash, a series of slices on nearby enemies. Very small range but widespread arc directly within reach. Twin swords required to use.
  • Cold Fission, a freezing tornado that knocks enemies upward. Twin swords required.
  • Teresa – Spinferno, a fiery sword strike that spins the user forward into enemies. One sword required. 
  • Inferno Slash – Summons a fiery tornado similar to cold fission that knocks enemies upward. One sword required.

Recommended Upgrades:

  • Frost Fangs – Summons spires of ice that send nearby enemies soaring. This is great for clearing a ton of enemies directly in front of you. Twin swords required. Acquired through training from the Martial Master.
  • Cold Fission/Inferno Slash – Each are very similar in concept, launching enemies upwards with a tornado-like attack. This is good for buying time to catch your breath or heal yourself. Default skill.
  • Body Slam – An attack that causes you to stagger enemies by launching yourself onto them. This is a straightforward, strong ability that does good damage. Costs six skill points to unlock.

Mage Overview

The Mage is a highly recommended vocation to have as soon as you unlock the ability to switch, due to its emphasis on attack and range, both of which become even more vital the farther you get into the story battles. The offside to the Mage is its lack of health and defense.

Recommended Stats: 

MP and Wisdom. You need more MP to cast even more powerful spells and Wisdom to make those same spells even stronger. ​

Initial Skills:

  • Maelstrom – A vortex that you conjure up to suck in the surrounding monsters. Wand required.
  • Miracle Moon – Summons a storm of sickles that chop enemies into pieces. Wand required.

Recommended Upgrades:

  • Maelstrom – The vortex is very cheap to cast, but it lasts for quite a while depending on how much MP you have. It will drain your MP until you cancel it, but as long as it is up, it will keep enemies at bay. Default skill.
  • Ring of Ruin – Draws a spectral circle that assists Mages in casting critical spells. Other than the obvious benefit, it is a low-costing cast and it is great if you have multiple Mages on your team. Costs three skill points to unlock.
  • Kasap – A spell that drains the defense of all enemies in the area. It’s as simple as it sounds; lower defense means your attacks do more damage. Costs 12 points to unlock.

Martial Artist Overview

Though the Martial Artist is restricted to only two types of weapons, it is a surprisingly versatile and fun fighter. Higher HP, deftness (evasiveness), and very strong attacks make up for its lack of defense. But, it does require a little more advanced strategy than both the Mage and Warrior. 

Recommended Stat: 

Deftness. This will help alleviate some of the damage from attacks by dodging.  ​

Initial Skills:

  • Leg Sweep – A low sweep attack that knocks enemies off-balance. Staff required.
  • Crushed Ice – Turns your normal weapon into a huge double-handed ice staff that does great damage to enemies directly in front of you. Staff required.

Recommended Upgrades:

  • Leg Sweep -Though it only affects a small set of enemies right in front of you, it is useful against additional enemies during boss fights to make things more fair. Default skill.
  • Crushed Ice -This attack is very strong, doing a flurry of hits that result in a final one that has a surprisingly far reach. Default skill.
  • Muster Strength – This ability focuses the user’s force in order to hit harder for a little while. It raises your already high attack even higher. Costs five skill points to acquire.
  • Meditation – Meditates with medical benefits to cure wounds. A nice ability to lean on when you’ve taken a lot of damage. Costs four points.
  • Tension Extension – Extends duration of high-tension mode. This allows you to be in “Super Saiyan” mode for even longer and utilize its unlimited MP for an onslaught of the other powerful skills. Costs three pointss.

And that wraps up this guide. If you have any questions, leave them in the comment section below.