Box art - Super Mario Maker 2

Super Mario Maker 2 Release | What time does Super Mario Maker 2 come out?

Super Mario Maker 2 is the highly anticipated sequel to Super Mario Maker and is set to release tomorrow, June 28! The Super Mario Maker 2 release is just around the corner and has fans looking forward to the building focused Mario game. One question that a lot of fans have is what time does Super Mario Maker 2 come out? For those purchasing a physical copy of the game, the answer is easy, whenever you go to the store to pick it up or whenever the mail comes. However, if you’re purchasing the Nintendo Switch game digitally, then the question can be a bit confusing. So we are here to help!

Super Mario Maker 2 Release | When can I play Super Mario Maker 2?

If you have pre-purchased Super Mario Maker 2 on the Nintendo Switch, then you’re likely wondering what time you will be able to play. The official Super Mario Maker 2 release time is 12 AM EST. To be clear, this means that on June 28 at midnight EST, you can play Super Mario Maker 2. To help those in other time zones out, that is 9 PM PT (meaning you can play June 27) and 5 AM BST (June 28).

Super Mario Maker 2 Release

Some players have questioned if they will be able to change their time zone on their Nintendo Switch to get access to the game a little bit early. However, this is not possible and will be a waste of your time. So, if you’re in one of the later time zones, then you’re just going to have to wait a little bit for the Super Mario Maker 2 release.

If you’re itching to play Super Mario Maker 2 as soon as possible, you can go ahead and pre-load the game onto your Nintendo Switch. This will save you some time when 12 AM EST rolls around. Instead of having to download the whole game, you’ll instead just download a small update that will activate the game. You can check out the official Nintendo website for instructions on how to pre-load your game.