Danganronpa and Zero Escape Creators Found New Studio

The creators of the Danganronpa and Zero Escape franchises have combined forces to found a new game studio. TooJyo Games, as it will be called, will focus on projects that thematically fit with Kazutaka Kodaka and Kotaro Uschikoshi’s previous work. The company has also announced the first projects they will be working on.

Joining Kodaka and Uschikoshi are many alums of the Danganronpa development team. Masafumi Takada — who composed the soundtrack for the despair-filled franchise— will join as the company’s main composer/arranger. Rui Komatsuzaki and Shimadoriru will be the company’s character designers and illustrators. Takumi Nakazawa, who worked on Ever 17 and Root Double, will be one of Tookyo Games’ directors/scenario writers, while Yoichiro Koizumi will act as a novelist/scenario writer.

Out of the four projects currently announced, the highest priority for the newly established studio is the one headed by Danganronpa creator Kazutaka Kodaka and Zero Escape creator Kotaro Uschikoshi.

Not much is known about the project, except that it will blend the two creatives’ favorite themes of “extreme” and “despair”. The next project announced was an anime that will be co-produced with the anime studio Pierrot, with the story written by Kodaka.

A third property was also announced, a cutesy looking title which will focus on “A death game of children, by children, for children.” Finally, a project that is co-produced with Spike Chunsoft that, will be a dark fantasy-style mystery that will have many of the staff from the Danganronpa franchise working on it. Apart from these small tidbits of information and concept art, no other news was announced about all these works. You can see the full stream reveal below.

The Danganronpa franchise began in 2010 with the release of Danganronpa: Trigger Happy Havoc on the PSP. It combined features of a visual novel, along with Ace Attorney style courtroom battles. Zero Escape, on the other hand, began on the Nintendo DS with Nine Hours, Nine Persons, Nine Doors in 2009.