More Reviews
REVIEWS LittleBigPlanet 3 Review
Developed mostly by Sumo Digital, this is the first LBP main numbered title to be developed outside of parent studio Media Molecule's hands. Without a guiding hand on the tiller, does it sink or swim?

Far Cry 4 Review
The open world of Far Cry 4 is wondrous, but is the beauty of Kyrat only skin-deep?
More Previews
PREVIEWS Silence: The Whispered World II Preview
With its absolutely gorgeous sequel, Daedalic aims to create a mid-range difficulty adventure title that will expand the genre to a larger audiences.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Geometry Wars 3: Dimensions
Release date: 11/25/14

Kingdom Hearts 2.5 HD Remix
Release date: 12/02/14

Guilty Gear Xrd -SIGN-
Release date: 12/16/14

Kalimba
Release date: 12/17/14


LATEST FEATURES With Two Paths to Walk This Fall, I Recommend Assassins Play AC Unity Over AC Rogue
For fans of this series, it'll be a decision based on hardware. For enthusiasts, returning to the brand's roots will prove enticing.

Nintendo Download November 2014 - Updating Each Week
If you've got credit on Nintendo's digital eShop service or expect to receive a gift card this holiday season, start making your list with our weekly updates.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES Xbox Downloads October 2014 - Updating Each Week
Microsoft's Xbox One console continues an Xbox Live revolution started over a decade ago. Here's hoping Summer of Arcade makes it to the platform next year.

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP oblivion437
Wish List for Fallout 4
By oblivion437
Posted on 11/24/14
So I promised that list and here it is.  It's late and it's not as thorough as I'd hoped.  I also wish I had images handy to illustrate every point where helpful.  So, in no particular order - a subjective set of desired features for Fallout 4: Things to...

RE Nemesis Review

Zombie_Duke By:
Zombie_Duke
12/01/00
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE  
PLAYERS 1- 1 
PUBLISHER Capcom 
DEVELOPER  
RELEASE DATE  

Waiter, there's a fly in my brains.

When brains are on the menu, you can always count on me to take a second helping. Delicious, fresh, juicy brains... Mmmmmm. As a connoisseur of the cerebrum, I've always considered Capcom to be a five-star chef, serving up one glorious dish after another from the fine Resident Evil menu.

First came the gloriously revolutionary Resident Evil, with just a hint of pepper. The plentiful Resident Evil 2 came in four courses on two different disks; a mighty meal for even the hungriest zombie. Resident Evil 3: Nemesis was delightfully surprising to the palette, with the authentic taste of undead mayhem in the big city. And Code Veronica for the Dreamcast took full advantage of Sega's cutting edge kitchen to produce an entrée with nearly flawless presentation.

So when I heard that Resident Evil 3: Nemesis was now being served on the Dreamcast, I positively droooooled with anticipation. I imagined the spicy chaos of Nemesis mingled with the beauty of Veronica. A 3D signature dish of dynamic flavor, with a presentation Alfred Portale could only envy. Such was my dream.

But to my dismay, Capcom delivered the exact same Playstation dish they served me months previously. I got a plate of old brains, stale brains, brains that had been stuffed in Tupperware, stored in the fridge and briefly reheated in the microwave. Capcom! How could you?!

Nemesis for the Dreamcast is just the Playstation programming tweaked to run on the DC. The big thing you'll notice is that the graphics, which were fine on the PS, look ridiculous on the DC. They're slightly sharper, but the edges are rough, there are seams everywhere, and the textures have big damn pixel squares. Mouths don't move when characters speak, arms look like rectangles...I could go on and on. It's a huge step backwards from savory Code Veronica.

The sharper zombies among you will have already realized that this means that they didn't make it 3D. Exactly like the PS version, the backgrounds are flat and the camera is fixed in place. There's even the same choppy, stuttering delay when the camera changes. Guaranteed hiccups throughout your meal!

In fact, the only real difference between the Playstation version is that the hidden Mercenaries game and Jill Valentine's alternate costumes are available right from the beginning. Why they decided to serve them with the entrée instead of saving them for dessert is beyond me.

If Sony wasn't holding up the Playstation emulator in court, you could just buy Bleem for the Dreamcast for the same price and play Nemesis and 99 other games. 99!

The only thing saving this reheated frozen dinner is that Nemesis was pretty good to begin with. The hero of the first Resident Evil game, Jill Valentine, was about to leave Raccoon City on a well-deserved vacation. Unfortunately, that pesky zombie virus got loose in the city, fortifying it with essential mayhem and carnage. The gritty taste of a city at war made this game really stand out.

Plus, the control is tighter than any other Resident Evil game and includes the dodge move. Nemesis himself is both large and scary. And the game has more surprises than any other; with dynamic zombie tactics and multiple paths. Go read my review of it to find out more.

Well, that's Nemesis on a silver platter. If you've tasted the Playstation version, you've eaten this before. We know what they could have done if they put their talents to the task - it's a shame they didn't even try. This plate of leftovers just isn't worthy of the table it's served on. Check, please.

C Revolution report card
  • Playstation
  • Looks stupid on the Dreamcast
  • It's just Playstation
  • They didn't even try
  • Bachelor cooking at best
  • I'm leaving a lousy tip
    Reviews by other members
    No member reviews for the game.


More from the Game Revolution Network




comments powered by Disqus

 


More information about RE Nemesis