Box art - Pokémon GO

Pokemon Go Ultra Bonus Event Guide: Pokemon Go Ultra Bonus Start Time

As we enter September 13, you may be wondering the exact Pokemon Go Ultra Bonus start time. The Pokemon Go Ultra Bonus event is set to kick off today and last up until the same time on September 30. But just like any Pokemon Go event, the Pokemon Go Ultra Bonus event start time isn’t as soon as the clock ticks over into a new day. Far from it, in fact. Unlike Community Day events, which start at the same local time in each region, lengthier Pokemon Go events, like raid rotations and today’s Ultra Bonus event, attempt to start at a coordinated time to suit many.

Pokemon Go Ultra Bonus Event Guide: Pokemon Go Ultra Bonus Start Time

Just as events have in the past, the Pokemon Go Ultra Bonus start time is set at 1:00 p.m. PDT. This time is set the world over, so no matter where you are, the Pokemon Go Ultra Bonus start time is the same. This means certain parts of the world will be looking at sunset before the event starts, while others may just be getting out of bed as the Kanto Pokemon spawns visibly increase. For Pokemon Go Ultra Bonus start times in your region, hit up a site like World Time Buddy to convert 1:00 p.m. PDT into your local timezone. We’ve listed a few conversions down below to help:

  • 1:00 p.m. PDT
  • 3:00 p.m. CDT
  • 9:00 p.m. BST
  • 10:00 p.m. CEST
  • 1:30 a.m. IST
  • 5:00 a.m. JST
  • 5:30 a.m. ACST

One of the most exciting features of the Pokemon Go Ultra Bonus event is the worldwide availability of previously region-exclusive Pokemon like Farfetch’d and Mr. Mine. These monsters won’t be available in the wild even during the event but will be obtained through 7km eggs typically only known to hatch Alolan Pokemon. It isn’t known whether Alolan Pokemon will be excluded from 7km eggs during the event.

As usual, however, eggs obtained prior to the event start time will not feature the Kanto regional pokemon, as egg hatches are determined as soon as they are obtained. This means players looking to obtain 7km eggs with potential region-exclusive pokemon will need to clear space in their egg inventory to ensure they’re able to obtain new eggs during the event. 7km eggs can only be obtained through gifts obtained at PokeStops and sent to other players.


Following the final leg of the Pokemon Go Fest world tour in Japan last weekend, the promised reward for trainers successfully completing each challenge has been revealed as the Pokemon Go Ultra Bonus event. To help you prepare for the upcoming event, we’ve pieced together this Pokemon Go Ultra Bonus event guide.

Pokemon Go Ultra Bonus Event Guide: What Is The Pokemon Go Ultra Bonus Event?

The Pokemon Go Ultra Bonus event is a two-week event that starts this Thursday, September 13 and lasts until September 30. Not only does the event bring back the legendary bird trio just days after Moltres Day, but it also makes Mewtwo, a Pokemon typically only available through rare EX Raids, available as a Tier 5 raid out in the wild.

During the Pokemon Go Ultra Bonus event, Tier 5 raids will include either Articuno, Zapdos, or Moltres for the first week, before Mewtwo takes their place for more than a month between September 20 to October 23.

On top of increased Kanto (gen 1) Pokemon spawns throughout the event, previous region-specific Kanto Pokemon like Farfetch’d, Kangaskhan, Mr. Mime, and Tauros will become available in eggs. It hasn’t been confirmed whether any other bonuses will be in effect, or even which eggs these Pokemon will hatch from, but we do suspect a shiny Mewtwo will be introduced during its time in the raid spotlight.

Zapdos, Moltres, and Articuno, who’s shiny variants were added during their respective days following each Pokemon Go Fest event, will return when they re-enter the raid pool at the start of the event.

To summarize, here is a list of the currently revealed Pokemon Go Ultra Bonus event features:

  • Increased Kanto Pokemon spawns (Sep. 13-30)
  • Region-specific Pokemon available worldwide through eggs (Sep. 13-30)
    • Farfetch’d (previous Asia exclusive)
    • Kangaskhan (previous Australia exclusive)
    • Tauros (previous America/Canada exclusive)
      • Mr. Mine (previous Europe exclusive)
  • New Tier 5 Raid rotation (Sep. 13-20)
    • Zapdos (shiny possible)
    • Moltres (shiny possible)
    • Articuno (shiny possible)
  • New Tier 5 Raid rotation (Sep. 20 – Oct. 23)
    • Mewtwo