Box art - Pokémon GO

Pokémon Go Hatchathon – What is the Hatchathon Event?

Pokémon Go is still a big deal in mobile gaming, and it’s shown no sign of slowing down despite the release of the more advanced Pokemon Lets Go Pikachu and Evee games on Nintendo Switch. It stays popular thanks to constant updates and events, such as the new Pokémon Go Hatchathon event going on right now. But what is this event, and what’s so special about it? Most importantly, how long do players have to take part in it? We’ve got the answers.

What is the Pokémon Go Hatchathon Event?

The Pokémon Go Hatchathon event introduces a load of new Pokémon to the game. Specifically, it grants wandering trainers the ability to hatch Pokémon with evolved forms originally discovered in the Sinnoh region. If you don’t know, the Sinnoh region was introduced in the Pokémon series’ Gen 4 titles: Diamond, Pearl, and Platinum. These Gen 4 Pokémon can be found in special 2 km eggs during the Hatchathon event, as well as other Pokémon.

Pokémon included in the event include Porygon, Rhyhorn, Magby, Murkrow, Togepi, Sneasel, and Budew. Developer Niantic notes that players may even get a rare Shiny Elekid, which is appearing in Pokémon Go for the first time. You’ll need a Sinnoh Stone in order to evolve all the Gen 4 Pokémon you catch. Luckily we’ve got a guide on what you’ll need to obtain these Sinnoh Stones, as well as what Pokémon they work on.

When Does the Pokémon Go Hatchathon Event Begin and End?

The Pokémon Go Hatchathon event is on right now. The event began on November 14, and runs all the way through November 27, 2018, at 13:00 PST / 16:00 EST / 21:00 GMT / 22:00 CET. We’re not sure what will happen regarding the new Pokémon once the event concludes, as presumably they will still be in the game somehow, but they might not be as easy to obtain. Best get to catching them all as quickly as possible.