Box art - Super Smash Bros Ultimate

Smash Ultimate Delete Names – How to Delete Nicknames

Super Smash Bros Ultimate is out now and it’s one of the hottest multiplayer games around. Unlike most games these days, Nintendo is great at supporting local multiplayer around a single console and TV, so it’s always fun to have friends over to play a game of Smash Bros. Unfortunately, some of those friends can get quite silly, and so you might need to utilize the Smash Ultimate Delete Names function. But how do you delete names in Smash Ultimate? Where do you go to do so? We’ve got the answers, fortunately.

How to Delete Names in Smash Ultimate

To add a name to Super Smash Bros Ultimate, so you or your friends can see their real names above their characters at all times when playing, is a useful function of Smash Bros Ultimate that’s been around since the GameCube days and Melee. It’s easy to do, too, and can be done very quickly. However, the game does not make it clear how to delete names in Smash Ultimate afterwards.

Fortunately deleting names is just as easy as adding them, although it’s not as obvious how to do so. All you have to do is press ZR at any time and go to the Options menu, and then go to, bizarrely, “Controls.” You’ll be able to find a list of the names you or any of your friends have saved on your Switch here. Just highlight the name you wish to delete and press “X” to do so. Easy.

Smash Ultimate Delete Names – Why Do You Need To?

There are many reasons you may want to delete names from your copy of Smash Bros Ultimate. You may have input a lot of names and may not be friends with some of them anymore. You may have spelled one wrong and want to correct it. Or, most likely, you or one of your friends was trying to be funny and put their name down as a swearword and you don’t want your parents or partner to see. Glad we could help you get rid of it in time.