Box art - League of Legends

Teamfight Tactics Ranked Release Date | When does TFT ranked come out?

Teamfight Tactics has only just come out for League of Legends, and the riff on Auto Chess has already proved quite popular. If you’re looking for a fresh MOBA challenge it’s worth checking out, but at the moment there’s no ranking to find out who the best players are. Is ranked mode coming to the game? Do we know the Teamfight Tactics ranked release date? When does TFT ranked come out anyway? Let’s have a look.

When does TFT ranked come out?

Riot Games recently revealed that the first-ever TFT tournament would be happening on July 17 and 18, and would celebrate the release of the Teamfight Tactics ranked mode. At the time, however, the studio did not reveal if that would be when ranked mode went live, or whether it would arrive sooner. It was later revealed that Teamfight Tactics ranked mode will be added to the game in the upcoming patch 9.14, according to Ed “SapMagic” Altorfer, senior design manager on gameplay at Riot Games. That patch seems to be due on July 9 at around 13:00 ET / 10:00 PT / 18:00 BST.

ALSO: Every modern Spider-Man movie ranked from worst to best

How will Teamfight Tactics ranked mode work?

According to SapMagic in a recent AMA for the game, ranked mode will function similar to Summoner’s Rift, and will include tiers and divisions. It won’t have a promotional series, so it should be more of a refined system. You can play and queue with your friends: up to five players can queue together for Gold and below, but only three players can queue together for Platinum and above. Finally, you’ll win or lose LP for each person you place higher/lower than, based on each players’ skill level. You’re not guaranteed to get LP for placing at any particular rank, although SapMagic promises that it will be less “swingy” than DOTA‘s Auto Chess. We’ll find out when it launches next week.