Box art - Star Wars Jedi: Fallen Order

When does Jedi Fallen Order take place on the Star Wars timeline?

Star Wars has been a little all over the place since Disney got ahold of the franchise. It’s not hard to get confused, especially when Jedi Fallen Order takes place almost fifty years before the current film trilogy. There’s no Resistance and First Order here, only the Empire and a fledgling spark of what will become the Rebel Alliance.

There’s no exact reference in Jedi Fallen Order to let you know when along the Star Wars timeline it takes place. However, we’ve got some clues from events mentioned in the game, and from the developers that give us an exact date for when the events of Jedi Fallen Order occur.

Science fiction fans the world over will get the chance to dive headfirst into a narrative-driven Star Wars adventure when Jedi: Fallen Order releases on PC, PS4, and Xbox One this coming Friday, November 15. Before doing that, though, it’ll pay to go into EA and Respawn Entertainment’s new game with some added context. Here’s what you need to know about the Star Wars Jedi: Fallen Order timeline so that you can be sure about what era this canon epic takes place in.

When does Star Wars Jedi: Fallen Order take place?

Star Wars Jedi Fallen Order timeline

Star Wars Jedi: Fallen Order takes place five years after the execution of Order 66 and the Declaration of a New Order, which established the Galactic Empire. This places it at 14 years before the Battle of Yavin (14 BBY).

Comparing it to other entries in the Star Wars canon, Jedi Fallen Order takes place:

  • 18 years after Star Wars: Episode I – The Phantom Menace (32 BBY)
  • Five years after Star Wars: Episode III – Revenge of the Sith (19 BBY)
  • One(ish) year before Solo: A Star Wars Story (13 BBY)
  • 14 years before Rogue One: A Star Wars Story and Star Wars: Episode IV – A New Hope (0 BBY)
  • 18 years before Star Wars: Episode VI – Return of the Jedi (4 ABY)
  • 24 years before The Mandalorian (10 ABY)
  • 48 years before Star Wars: Episode VII – The Force Awakens (34 ABY)

As you can see, Jedi Fallen Order takes place in that troubled time between the rise of the Empire and the Rebel Alliance’s first major victory with the destruction of the Death Star. As such, the galaxy is very much in turmoil, and the Empire is still dedicating significant resources towards wiping out the Jedi that escaped Order 66.

ALSO: Star Wars Jedi: Fallen Order Co-Op | Is there splitscreen multiplayer?

This means we’re heading quite a distance back in time, all the way to a tumultuous period just after the nefarious Emperor Palpatine enacts Order 66 and commands all Jedi to be killed. Cal Kestis is one of a few Jedi to survive Order 66, though he and the others are far from out of trouble with Darth Vader and his henchmen hunting down the last remnants of the Jedi Order.

Star Wars Jedi: Fallen Order is entirely built around a single-player experience, so hopefully we’re in for a rich story worthy of carrying an entire game. If you’re looking to absorb absolutely everything, you might also consider picking up the Star Wars: Jedi: Fallen Order: Dark Temple comic book series. Its five issues tell a prequel story that should help to ease players into the main game.