What does the lock mean on Snapchat?

If you’ve been scrolling through your feed and have seen the Snapchat padlock symbol, you might not know what it means. In this guide, we’ll tell you the answer to “what does the lock mean on Snapchat?” Read on to discover what the Snapchat stories padlock symbol means. Find out exactly what the lock symbol means and how you can make one of your own below.

What does the lock mean on Snapchat?

what does the lock mean on Snapchat

If you’ve seen a padlock symbol next to a story, that means that it is a private story. As you can see the lock symbol, it means that you have been invited to be a part of that private story by the person who created it. Depending on the situation, of course, this could mean good or bad news for you. But yeah, to answer “what does the lock mean on Snapchat?” The lock symbol means that you have been invited to take part in a private story.

ALSO: NASCAR driver suspended for using racial slur during game tournament

If you have been invited to view a private Snapchat story, that means that only you, the person who created the private story, and anyone else that they invited, can get involved with it and view it. If you haven’t been invited to a private story, you simply won’t know if your friend has created one or not. Private Snapchat stories are simple to create. To make your own private Snapchat story, follow these steps:

  • Open Snapchat
  • Head to your Profile
  • Tap on “+ Custom Story”
  • Choose to create a Private Story
    • You can also create Custom and Geo stories
  • Make your Private Story
    • Choose which friends can see it from the list
      • Send your Private Story

You can create up to ten Private Stories at once, but you can seemingly invite as many friends to your Private Stories as you like. What you put in your private story is, of course, up to you.