Box art - Animal Crossing: New Horizons

When is the Animal Crossing Summer Update Wave 1 start time and release date?

If you’re excitedly anticipating the Animal Crossing: New Horizons Summer Update, then you likely have one big question that needs answering: “When is the Animal Crossing Summer Update Wave 1 start time and release date?” Thankfully, we have the information you desire, allowing you to be ready to go as soon as the new update drops. With the Summer Update Wave 1, you’ll be able to dive into the ocean and find new creatures, experience new encounters, and more. Read on for the need-to-know info.

When is the Animal Crossing Summer Update start time?

Animal Crossing Summer Update start time

The Animal Crossing Summer Update start time should start at around 6 AM UTC on July 3. This is when updates are usually deployed and when the events are implemented.

  • 6 AM UTC (July 3)
  • 7 AM BST (July 3)
  • 2 AM ET (July 3)
  • 11 PM PT (July 2)

ALSO: Pokemon Let’s Go Johto trends as fans hope for Nintendo Switch sequel

To experience the Animal Crossing Summer Update, players will first have to download the new update. Once that has been successfully downloaded and installed, it should become obvious that the event is active. You’ll then be able to explore the ocean, meet new characters, find new sea creatures, and more.

While the timings of previous Animal Crossing updates allow us to estimate when to expect the July 3 patch to drop, the launch could be delayed by the current climate the world is experiencing. We’ll be sure to update this post with more information if and when it becomes available.

For now, we’d estimate that the Animal Crossing: New Horizons July 3 update will launch at 6 AM UTC, with players then able to download and install the patch to immediately gain access to the summer event.

As for the next event, Wave 2, that’s expected to arrive in early August. That’s a fair bit of content for Animal Crossing: New Horizons fans to get excited about!