What Does Clear Cache Mean on Snapchat?

If you use Snapchat enough, you may eventually see the app start to slow down. This is especially true if Snapchat says disk is full, which happens when local storage space runs out. To fix it, you’ll need to clear your cache. But what does clear cache mean on Snapchat, and are there any risks of doing it?

Snapchat | What does clear cache mean?

Snapchat - What does clear cache mean?

The clear cache option on Snapchat will remove certain types of data stored on your mobile device. Clearing the cache means you’ll delete some of the app’s least important data, allowing Snapchat to run more smoothly.

Here’s how to clear your cache on Snapchat:

  1. Launch Snapchat
  2. Tap on your bitmoji in the upper left to access your profile
  3. Press on the cog wheel in the upper right to access Settings
  4. Look for Clear Cache under Account Actions, then tap on it
  5. Tap Clear All (on iOS) or Continue (on Android)

After you select the option to clear your cache, you’ll receive a warning message saying “All of your caches will be cleared. Your Memories backup won’t be deleted.”

Don’t worry about losing access to any important data. Clearing the cache leaves all of your saved photos, videos, chats, and memories intact. Choosing to clear the cache will instead delete files such as thumbnail previews and other non-essential data. If the app needs any of that data moving forward, it will simply download it again.

If Snapchat is running slow or giving you warnings that your disk is full, you should clear your cache. The ephemeral messaging app can easily take up a gigabyte of storage space under normal use, or more if you save photos and videos frequently. Clearing the cache is the best way to free up space on your phone and keep everything running smoothly.