Mega Man X Legacy Collection Trailer Shows New “X Challenge Mode”

Mega Man X Legacy Collection 1 & 2 are less than a month away from release and Capcom has released a new trailer for the upcoming collection of classic games showcasing a new feature called “X Challenge Mode” which will pit players against a pair of Mavericks from the various Mega Man X titles

The “X Challenge Mode” will allow players to choose a loadout of abilities that they’ll be using against the two bosses. The new trailer teases some of the potential boss duos that players will be able to face. We’ve listed all the pairs featured in the trailer below:

  • Chill Penguin (Mega Man X) and Frost Walrus (Mega Man X4)
  • Wheel Gator and Bubble Crab (Mega Man X2)
  • Slash Beast (Mega Man X4) and Crescent Grizzly (Mega Man X5)
  • Web Spider (Mega Man X4) and Wire Sponge (Mega Man X2)
  • Magma Dragoon (Mega Man X4) and Neon Tiger (Mega Man X3)
  • Spiral Pegasus and Dark Necrobat (Mega Man X5)
  • Blizzard Wolfang (Mega Man X6) and Burn Dinorex (Mega Man X5)
  • Armored Armadillo (Mega Man X) and Rainy Turtloid (Mega Man X6)
  • Dr. Doppler and Godkarmachine O Inary (Mega Man X3)
  • Vile MK-2 (Mega Man X3) and High Max (Mega Man X6)

There are a total of 64 bosses across the eight Mega Man X games included in the two game collections so there’s a lot of potential duos that players can match up against. The new mode will also feature three difficult options as well as an online leaderboard.

Mega Man X Legacy Collection 1 and Mega Man X Legacy Collection 2 is scheduled for release on July 24, 2018, for the PlayStation 4, Xbox One, Nintendo Switch, and PC. Mega Man X Legacy Collection 1 will include Mega Man X1 to X4 while Legacy Collection 2 comes with Mega Man X5 to X8. You can check out the new trailer featuring the new “X Challenge Mode” below: