Monster Hunter World Final Fantasy XIV Crossover Arrives Next Month

The Monster Hunter World Final Fantasy XIV crossover was initially announced at the Square Enix E3 2018 press conference last month. The reveal was a highlight in what was a short presentation, especially one that didn’t showcase much in the span of fewer than 30 minutes. Now Capcom has announced the official release date for the upcoming crossover, which will launch on August 1, 2018.

In anticipation for the upcoming Monster Hunter World Final Fantasy XIV crossover, Capcom has also released the “Behemoth Update” trailer earlier today. It grants players a first look at Final Fantasy XIV‘s Behemoth appearing in Monster Hunter World. According to Siliconera, players will be able to start hunting the legendary monster starting from 5 p.m. PT/7 p.m. CT/8 p.m. ET on August 1, 2018, and 1 a.m. BST/9 a.m. JST on August 2, 2018.

Meanwhile, the Monster Hunter World Final Fantasy XIV crossover has much more in store for players. Monster Hunter World‘s Rathalos will also be appearing in the Square Enix’s popular MMORPG. This is an unusual but exciting collaboration between two Japanese games giants. Monster Hunter World is arguably more popular at the moment, although both games would ultimately benefit from the crossover.

In other related news, Capcom is clearly trying to give the Monster Hunter franchise a boost. The release of Monster Hunter World on the PC next month will probably add a significant number to the already whopping eight million copies sold to date. A 3D animated special titled Monster Hunter Legends of the Guild is also currently in production, which is slated for release sometime in 2019.

Here’s hoping all of that will be enough to mitigate the stock crisis problem at Capcom. Fear of dwindling sales has caused the company’s stocks to plummet. It’s hard to believe that eight million copies are still not enough for the stock market. In the meantime, check out the Behemoth Update trailer below.