World of Warcraft Battle for Azeroth Pre-patch Goes Live

World of Warcraft players will have something to look forward to later today, as the WoW Battle for Azeroth pre-patch goes live. Developer Blizzard has announced that the pre-patch will release Tuesday, July 17 or Wednesday 18, depending on where you live in the world.

The update will go live after some server maintenance for WoW. The servers will be going under maintenance for approximately eight hours. The maintenance starts at 7 AM PDT, 10 AM EDT and 3 PM BST and finishes at 3 PM PDT, 6 PM EDT and 3 PM BST.

Blizzard has also released a Battle for Azeroth Pre-Patch Survival Guide which is to help World of Warcraft players prepare for the pre-patch. One of the things mentioned in the video is that Blizzard has done another stat squish. Health, damage and stat numbers have been reduced for both players and NPCs.

Blizzard has provided us with a list of features that are included in Battle for Azeroth pre-patch.

  • Battle for Azeroth Class updates: The arrival of the pre-patch will bring with it significant changes for many of the classes and specs in the game. Players will be able to start practising their updated spells and abilities, This gives them an edge as they set out to Kul Tiras or Zandalar in the expansion to seek out more power.
  • War Mode and PvP updates: With the arrival of the Pre-Patch, the long-awaited War Mode will be available. Players will be able to toggle War Mode on or off when in Orgrimmar or Stormwind. When the mode is enabled, players are able to engage in world PvP – no matter what realm they’re on. The update includes an arsenal of changes to PvP talents and the Honor system.
  • Cross-realm communities: Players will be able to create and join cross-realm communities. This new kind of social group makes it easier to connect with and play alongside others in your faction.

World of Warcraft is available now on PC. The Battle of Azeroth expansion launches August 14.