Sonic The Hedgehog Classic Announced for Nintendo Switch

Sonic the Hedgehog will be returning to the Nintendo Switch as part of the “SEGA Ages” campaign that is being run by Sega. The games in which Sonic will appear will be Sonic the Hedgehog, and Sonic the Hedgehog 2, which are just two of ten titles that have been announced as part of the Nintendo Switch SEGA Ages project so far. That’s right, there’s finally a Sonic the Hedgehog Switch version. The full list of titles is as follows:

  •  Alex Kidd in Miracle World
  • Columns II
  • Gain Ground
  • Out Run
  • Phantasy Star
  • Sonic the Hedgehog
  • Sonic the Hedgehog 2
  • Space Harrier
  • Thunder Force AC
  • Thunder Force IV.

According to Nintendo Wire, a recent issue of the Japanese magazine Famitsu has confirmed that Sonic the Hedgehog and Thunder Force IV will be released together on the Japanese Nintendo Switch eShop on September 20. The magazine specifies the Japanese eShop, but it is known that SEGA Ages will be a worldwide campaign, so it’s possible that this will be the release date globally. This release date comes in the wake of delays in the project that were announced back in August. With the first two titles finally getting release dates, it seems likely that the project is well underway.

SEGA has announced that it plans to feature at least 15 arcade, Master System, and Mega Drive/Genesis titles as part of the Nintendo Switch’s SEGA Ages run, as well as both Saturn and Dreamcast titles at some point in the future. The Nintendo Switch SEGA Ages campaign is being run by M2, who was responsible for the SEGA 3D Classics ports for the Nintendo 3DS. That being said, it seems that the campaign is in good hands.

This is all that is known for now, as Nintendo has remained relatively tight-lipped about the SEGA Ages Switch line-up. However, with a fixed release date now confirmed, it is likely that news will start to come in over the coming weeks.