New Video Game Hall of Fame inductees announced, including Super Mario Kart and Mortal Kombat

The new Video Game Hall of Fame inductees for 2019 have been announced and there are some big names headlining this year’s members. Super Mario Kart and Mortal Kombat are the two most well-known games that have been inducted into the Video Game Hall of Fame. Releasing in 1992, both Super Mario Kart and Mortal Kombat have made a massive impact on the gaming industry, so it should be no surprise that they are the latest Video Game Hall of Fame inductees.

Video Game Hall of Fame inductees

Super Mario Kart has sold millions of copies on the Super Nintendo Entertainment System and led to a bunch of other great Mario Kart racing games. Super Mario Kart features several characters from the Mario franchise and helped popularize the kart racing genre. Mortal Kombat, on the other hand, is known for graphics and gore. The game is known for its over-the-top violence, the likes of which resulted in the creation of the ESRB rating board still used today. Mortal Kombat released in the height of the Sega-Nintendo console wars and has led to a long line of games, the most recent of which being Mortal Kombat 11.

The other inductees into the Video Game Hall of Fame are Colossal Cave Adventure and Microsoft Solitaire. These titles aren’t quite as well-known in the gaming industry as the latter but are important nonetheless. Colossal Cave Adventure is a text-based fantasy game that had no graphics and relied on the player typing out commands. It is considered to have laid the foundation for the fantasy and adventure game genre. On the other hand, Microsoft Solitaire has been a staple for Windows users since its debut in 1990. Microsoft Solitare proved that sometimes simple games can be a lot of fun.

The Strong’s World Video Game Hall of Fame was established in 2015 and aims to recognize electronic games of all kind. The Strong’s Museum is located in Rochester, New York and features a display of all sorts of video games, including the 2019 inductees.