More Reviews
REVIEWS Far Cry 4 Review
The open world of Far Cry 4 is wondrous, but is the beauty of Kyrat only skin-deep?

World of Warcraft: Warlords of D Review
Does Blizzard's latest expansion breathe new life into the 10 year-old franchise, or is this MMO finally starting to show its age?
More Previews
PREVIEWS Silence: The Whispered World II Preview
With its absolutely gorgeous sequel, Daedalic aims to create a mid-range difficulty adventure title that will expand the genre to a larger audiences.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Geometry Wars 3: Dimensions
Release date: 11/25/14

Kingdom Hearts 2.5 HD Remix
Release date: 12/02/14

Guilty Gear Xrd -SIGN-
Release date: 12/16/14

Kalimba
Release date: 12/17/14


LATEST FEATURES With Two Paths to Walk This Fall, I Recommend Assassins Play AC Unity Over AC Rogue
For fans of this series, it'll be a decision based on hardware. For enthusiasts, returning to the brand's roots will prove enticing.

Nintendo Download November 2014 - Updating Each Week
If you've got credit on Nintendo's digital eShop service or expect to receive a gift card this holiday season, start making your list with our weekly updates.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES Xbox Downloads October 2014 - Updating Each Week
Microsoft's Xbox One console continues an Xbox Live revolution started over a decade ago. Here's hoping Summer of Arcade makes it to the platform next year.

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP Master_Craig
Welcome Home - PAX AUS 2014
By Master_Craig
Posted on 11/18/14
Last night I returned home from PAX AUS 2014. Long story short, it wasn't perfect, but it was quite possibly the best weekend I've had this year. It was a lot of fun. If you'd like to continue reading, the long story is just below. Buckle up. This is gonna be...

Mario Kart 7 Review

danielrbischoff By:
danielrbischoff
12/06/11
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Action / Driving 
PLAYERS 1- 8 
PUBLISHER Nintendo 
DEVELOPER Nintendo 
RELEASE DATE  
E Contains Comic Mischief

What do these ratings mean?

Zoom-Zoom.


I'm not one for Mario Kart Wii. I honestly hated the game. I've played every entry in the series, but I couldn't stand Mario Kart Wii. I thought it was terribly floaty and that the weapon and CPU balancing were the worst the series had ever seen. Needless to say, I was a little worried about Mario Kart 7.

Thankfully, this 3D-enabled outing actually more closely resembles Mario Kart DS than it does the console spawn of Kart-racing Satan. Mario Kart 7 represents a return to form for the series, whether or not you find that form a little stale after six previous outings.


Obviously the biggest addition to the Nintendo-racing stalwart is the inclusion of submarining and hang-gliding. Tracks take racers under the sea and up into the air for a sense of variety. Of course, it's entirely superficial, but there's something to be said about the way it has opened up track design for Nintendo's time.

Mario Kart 7's new tracks are as inventive as Mario Kart 64's and the slight changes to the classic selection of tracks open them up to fresh eyes and old-hands alike. There's enough graphical oomph to make each beautiful in its own right and the 3D effect is icing on the cake. Sure, it doesn't add much to the experience, but small touches like the first-person mode and certain twists and turns make the added depth more than worthwhile.


Of course, that says nothing of the game's buttery smooth online experience. As much as I'd like to say I've got a full list of friends on my 3DS, I don't and I can't pretend to assume many gamers do, but matchmaking in Mario Kart 7's online mode works almost flawlessly and the races remain lag-free throughout. I never thought I'd have an online experience like this in a Nintendo game.

You can also join specific racing communities to matchmake against regional opponents or fans of specific games and characters. Mario Cup is currently the most populated, but the selection will quickly grow. Regardless of what cup you're racing in or whether you're playing Battle or Grand Prix modes, I'm completely surprised by the game's excellent netcode. Even in a game populated by Japanese players, I found little to no lag.

So what's wrong with the it? Why am I not giving Mario Kart 7 a full-speed 'A'? It's too safe. This is the system-seller. You still can't find a copy of Mario Kart DS for much less than $30. This game has to stand the test of time... or at least... the test of a handheld generation.


I'd like for there to be more tracks, both new and old, and I wish there was more variety in the game's online modes. There's still plenty of rubber-banding in races against computer opponents... and human opponents. Mario Kart is Mario Kart is Mario Kart. This entry does little to change that formula.

Regardless, you've got to own this game if you've got a Nintendo 3DS. If you find a shiny new 3D handheld under the Christmas tree, don't hesitate to pick this game up. It'll surely prove to suck hours and hours of your system's diminuitive battery life away, but once you plug in, you won't want to put it down.

Copy provided by the publisher.

A- Revolution report card
  • It's Mario Kart
  • ...doesn't go much further than that.
  • And it's in 3D!
  • Great new tracks
  • Excellent tweaks to the old tracks
  • Deep, organized Online Mode
  • ...with stellar netcode
  • It doesn't take to Mario Kart Wii
Tags:   Nintendo, 3DS, Mario
FOLLOW ME ON TWITTER. YOU KNOW YOU WANT TO.

More from the Game Revolution Network




comments powered by Disqus

 


More information about Mario Kart 7
Also known as: Mario Kart 3DS