New Doctor Who Writers and Directors Revealed

With the return of Doctor Who fast approaching, the new writers and directors for the new Doctor Who show (season 11 of the reboot if you’re keeping track) have been revealed. The staff for this new era for the popular British sci-fi show will be filled with many newcomers, some of whom have worked on some of TV’s best-loved genre shows.

The writing team for the new season includes Malorie Blackman, Ed Hime, Vinay Patel, Pete McTighe, and Joy Wilkinson. Blackman is most famous for her work in young adult fiction, penning novels such as the Noughts and Crosses series of books as well as Pig Heart Boy, which was adapted into a BAFTA award-winning miniseries. Ed Hime is most well known for his work on the popular UK drama Skins, while the others all have had previous critically acclaimed experience within British television. From the BBC’s official press release, it can be seen that they are all also are very keen to be working on the historic programme. The writers are all, of course, joined by new Doctor Who showrunner Chris Chibnall, who has worked on the series before, as well as its spinoff Torchwood, where he also was a head writer.

As for the directors for the new season, its ranks include Sallie Aprahamian, Jamie Childs, Jennifer Perrott, and Mark Tonderai. Childs’s previous efforts within Doctor Who can be seen in the reveal of Jodie Whittaker’s thirteenth Doctor in the 2017 Christmas special of the show, called Twice Upon A Time. Childs will also be returning as the director of the first episode of the season.  Tonderai is also of note as he has worked on Fox’s Lucifer and Gotham, along with Netflix original Black Lightning, as well as Nightflyers which is based on a novella written by Game of Thrones creator George R.R. Martin.

The new season of Doctor Who will begin airing in the autumn of 2018 on BBC One in the UK, and BBC America in the US.