Box art - Destiny 2

Destiny 2 Five of Swords: What Does the 5 of Swords Challenge Card Do?

The Five of Swords is new to Destiny 2 this week and comes courtesy of Xur. The 5 of Swords is used as part of a new mechanic in Destiny 2 that allows you to add modifiers to your Nightfall challenges. To find out exactly how the Five of Swords works read on below.

How to Use the Five of Swords Challenge Card in Destiny 2

Before you can use the 5 of Swords, you’ll need to grab one. This week Xur is on Nessus, so you can head over there and meet him. Your first Five of Swords is free, so you get to try the new challenge card out without any risk.

Destiny 2 Five of Swords

When you use the Five of Swords, you get a chance to raise or lower your score multiplier on Prestige Nightfall missions. You do this by increasing or decreasing your handicap. The more negative effects you have to deal with, the higher your multiplier will be and vice-versa.

There’s a decent range of modifiers that you can add to your Nightfall missions in Destiny 2. There’s a list of them below.

List of Nightfall Modifiers:

  • Arc Singe
  • Attrition
  • Blackout
  • Brawler
  • Extinguish
  • Famine
  • Grenadier
  • Grounded
  • Heavyweight
  • Iron
  • Match Game
  • Momentum
  • Solar Singe
  • Void Singe

A lot of players are still running the new Nightfall missions as is. However, when you hit max light level, and things start getting too easy, the Five of Swords is an excellent way to add a little extra risk for a better reward. Additionally, if you’re just getting started in Destiny 2, the 5 of Swords can allow you to decrease the handicap in Nightfall missions to take a bit of the pressure off.

This new challenge modifier system is just one way that Bungie is adding little quality of life fixes to keep people coming back. Although the community has been salty in the past, it’s stuff like this that make Destiny 2 more appealing for the long haul.

For more Destiny 2 see our game hub or the articles below.