Box art - PUBG

PUBG Eight Man Squads: How Do I Join Larger Squads?

Fancy splitting up that chicken dinner eight ways? You can now do that thanks to the return of PUBG eight man squads. As you’ll soon find out, however, the bumper-sized battle royale team is limited to only a single game mode, and even that won’t be sticking around for long. Still, you’d best make the most of it while you still can, right?

PUBG 8 Man Squads: How Do I Join Larger Squads?

To join a PUBG eight man squad you must either invite seven of your friends into a party and then dive headfirst into the current Event Mode (see below for that). Or, you can join the PUBG eight man squad Erangel queue on PC to get a game instantly in this week’s Event Mode: Metal Rain.

Are PUBG 8 Man Squads Just in Event Mode?

Yes. In fact, eight man squads in PUBG can only be found in a certain Event Mode as of writing. That means normal TPP and FPP games on Erangel, Miramar, and Sanhok are excluded from being a part of eight man squads.

You can only form part of a PUBG eight man squad during the limited-time mode Metal Rain. As per the PUBG announcement on Steam, you and seven other eight man squads will duke it out on Erangel, with the added bonus of flare guns dotted around the map to be used to call in care packages and armored UAZ vehicles. You can rest easy on the betrayals, too, as friendly fire has been turned off.

PUBG 8 Man Squads End Date

PUBG eight man squads aren’t around for much longer. They have an end date of Sunday, July 22, 7 p.m. PDT /10 p.m. EDT and Monday, July 23, 3 a.m. BST.

After that, you’ll have to pray PUBG Corp plan on bringing 8 man squads back at more regular intervals as, after all, this is the first time the option to team up with seven friends (or strangers) has appeared in the game for a good few months.