Box art - Pokémon GO

Pokemon Go New Year Hatchathon Event – Release Date, Rewards, and More

2019 has started with a bang for Pokemon Go players. A Pokemon Go New Year Hatchathon event has been announced by developer Niantic, but what exactly does this entail? Does the event have a release date yet, and what rewards can players expect to receive? Get the lowdown on the Pokemon Go New Year Hatchathon event with our guide.

What Is the Pokemon Go New Year Hatchathon Event?

The Pokemon Go New Year Hatchathon event will see players earn bonuses for hatching 5 km and 10 km eggs over a certain period of time throughout January. Players can pick up eggs at Pokestops dotted around the real world, and there’s a higher chance of receiving 5 km and 10 km eggs from Pokestops and gyms throughout this period.

Players are being advised to hatch as many as possible, by Niantic, to earn a number of rewards that will help them on their way to becoming the ultimate Pokemon master.

When Does the Pokemon Go New Year Hatchathon Event Begin?

It already has. Niantic announced the event in an official blog post on their website on January 2. They revealed that the Pokemon Go New Year Hatchathon event would run from Thursday, January 2 at 1 PM PST (4 PM EST and 9 PM GMT) until Wednesday, January 15 at 1 PM PST.

When Pokemon Go New Year Hatchathon Event Rewards Can I Earn?

There are two main bonuses that you can earn by taking part in this event. Players earn twice as many hatch candies and double the amount of hatch stardust for every egg that they hatch.

Candy and stardust can be used to help your Pokemon become more powerful, and level them up so that they become their evolved forms. Candy is earned by catching Pokemon and hatching eggs, but the amount of candy you obtain from hatching eggs can be randomized.

Stardust, meanwhile, can be earned by catching Pokemon, hatching eggs, winning raid battles, and more. It can also be used to help trade Pokemon, so it’s a worthwhile consumable item to get by any means.