Box art - Resident Evil 2 Remake

Resident Evil 2 Steam unlock time – when is the remake available?

The Resident Evil 2 remake will be available very soon, on January 25, and it’ll be out on Xbox One, PS4, and PC at the same time. On PC it’ll be available through Steam, and of course naturally everyone on PC who can’t wait to play the game will want to know the Resident Evil 2 Steam unlock time, so they know the soonest possible time they can play the game. But when will Resident Evil 2 unlock on Steam? Is it available elsewhere, such as the Epic Games Store? We’ve got the answers.

What is the Resident Evil 2 Steam unlock time?

At the time of writing there’s still a week before the Resident Evil 2 remake releases on any platform, and the game’s Steam page is still just showing the final release day of January 25, rather than an exact release time. However, based on past releases such as Capcom’s Monster Hunter World, it’s very likely that the game will unlock at one of two times: either midnight, no matter your territory, or at 9:00 PT / 12:00 ET / 17:00 GMT. We suspect the latter. We’ll know more for sure closer to the release time.

Is the Resident Evil 2 remake on Epic Games Store or other stores?

Of course there’s also the possibility of unlocking the Resident Evil 2 remake on other digital platforms on PC and playing it first. So is Resident Evil 2 on the Epic Games Store, Origin, GOG, or any other digital client? Unfortunately not. In this case, Resident Evil 2 remake, like many Japanese games, is exclusive to Steam on PC. You can buy the PC version from different stores, but you’ll only ever get a Steam key.

Therefore, if you want to play Resident Evil 2 remake on PC, you’ll have to do it on Steam, and you’ll have to wait until the unlock time. Hopefully pre-order customers will be able to preload the game, but that’s not guaranteed unfortunately.