Box art - Pokémon GO

Pokemon Go Friendship weekend event release date

A Pokemon Go friendship weekend event is due to land for Niantic’s smartphone hit very shortly. We know when the Friendship weekend begins, as well as the bonuses that players can pick up during its run time. Read on with our Pokemon Go friendship weekend event guide to see what’s new and improved.

Pokemon Go friendship weekend event release date

pokemon go friendship weekend event release date

The Pokemon Go friendship weekend event will go live on Friday, February 8 at 1 p.m. PST (4 p.m. EST and 9 p.m. GMT) and it will run for the entire weekend. You’ll have four days to make the most of it in total, as the event will end on Monday, February 11 at 1 p.m. PST.

The event is designed to “increase” the friendships that you’ve accumulated with other players, and you will earn bonuses based on what you decide to do with your mates.

Pokemon Go friendship weekend event bonuses

pokemon go friendship weekend event bonuses

The main bonus that you’ll get from the Pokemon Go friendship weekend event is that your friendship levels can be “doubled.” To put it simply, if you send gifts to your friends, or open ones sent to you, you’ll get two days’ worth of friendship interactions rather than just one day.

This will increase the level between you and your pals. By increasing this friendship level, you are likely to receive twice as many bonuses from gym and raid battles, and it will cost less Stardust for you to trade Pokemon with your friends.

The Pokemon Go friendship weekend event will also double the amount of candy you receive from each trade, as well reduce the amount of Stardust needed to conduct trades by half. It’s well worth taking part in this event, especially if you have plenty of friends. And who knows? With the Pokemon Go Lunar New Year event also taking place, you could earn yourself a Lucky Pokemon from trading too.