Box art - The Division 2

The Division 2 Leave Group | How to leave another player’s session

Things were going good in your new group, with missions becoming much easier thanks to the extra firepower. However, somewhere along the line, you wanted to escape and head back into your own game, but you didn’t know how to exit out. In a panic, you hit the “Logout” button and went back to the main menu. While that is one option, there’s an easier The Division 2 leave group function built into the game’s Social menu. Here is how to leave another player’s game.

How to leave a group in The Division 2

The Division 2 Leave Group

The Division 2 leave group process is actually very simple, even if it is obscured slightly by the faded text within the Social menu. You see, all you need to do is click your own username, then hit “Leave Group.” It really is as easy as that!

Alternatively, if you find yourself dealing with a particularly loud group of players, who are otherwise fine to play with, you can instead click their name and hit “Mute Mic.” This will give you the peace and quiet you desire, while still making use of the additional firepower granted by the extra players. Win-win!

Leaving a group in The Division 2 is the best way to ensure that you don’t miss out on any plot points. If you remain in a player’s game, you run the risk of those strangers going ahead and talking to NPCs without you. This can be infuriating, as you see mission objectives being completed despite you not actually partaking in their completion!

Our advice is to use your teammates to complete main story missions, before then heading back to your own game to continue NPC conversations and learn more about what is going on in post-apocalyptic Washington D.C. Then, when it comes to playing a mission again, simply matchmake and dive back in.