Box art - The Division 2

The Division 2 How to save | Does it have manual saves?

Like many online games, it’s hard to tell when The Division 2 saves. Furthermore, you only have the one save slot that is tied to your character, so how do you tell if your progress is actually saved? Below we’ll detail The Division 2 save system and go into how you can perform a manual save.

How do I save in The Division 2?

The Division 2 How to Save

The save system in The Division 2 works a lot like other always online games like Destiny 2, Anthem, World of Warcraft, Warframe, and the first Division title. Pretty much everything you do autosaves, so you don’t really have to worry too much with losing progress.

Even if your power abruptly goes out, or you shut down the game without logging out, your progress will be saved in The Division 2. This is a boon and a bane. On the one hand, you’ll never lose that cool new gun you just got, but on the other, you can’t really correct any mistakes, like accidentally recycling an item you didn’t mean to.

Can I do a manual save in The Division 2?

The Division 2 How to Save

Since The Division 2 continually autosaves, there’s no real reason to do a manual save if all you’re worried about is overwriting your data. If you want a little extra piece of mind, you can log out of The Division 2 via the menu, which will help you be extra, special sure that you’ve saved, but it’s not necessary.

However, if you want to save so you can reload in case you fail a mission or something of the sort, it’s impossible. Since The Division 2 is always online, your data is synced with Ubisoft’s servers. This means there’s no real way to save scum or load a previous save. Unfortunately for those who like the odds forever in their favor, the only way to play The Division 2 is to move forward.