Box art - Sekiro: Shadows Die Twice

Sekiro New Game Plus | What changes in New Game + Mode?

New Game Plus mode in Sekiro Shadows Die Twice allows you to begin the game anew after beating it. This mode allows you to start a new playthrough, but retain some of the advantages and options from your previous journey. Here’s what you need to do to unlock New Game + in Sekiro, and what it changes.

How to unlock New Game Plus in Sekiro Shadows Die Twice

Unlocking New Game + in Sekiro is relatively easy. At least easy in the way you don’t have to do anything special. All you need to do is reach one of the game’s endings.

When you reach the end of the game, just sit through the final cutscenes. After the credits roll, you’ll go back into the game, and then you can choose to start New Game Plus from the Dilapidated Temple.

What do you get to keep in New Game Plus in Sekiro Shadows Die Twice?

Sekiro‘s New Game + works much the same as the mode did in Dark Souls. When you defeat the final boss, you can roam around the world at will until you decide to start New Game Plus.

New Game Plus allows you to retain:

  • All your items (except certain key items)
  • Prosthetic Tools
  • Skills from the previous playthrough
  • Money
  • Upgrades to the Healing Gourd

Additionally, everyone’s Dragonrot will be reset, so no one will be sick when you first start.

What changes in New Game Plus in Sekiro Shadows Die Twice?

When you begin New Game + in Sekiro, all enemies are reset, including bosses. All shortcuts and doors you’ve opened will also be closed, and all Sculptor’s Idols must be activated again to enable fast travel.

Like in Dark Souls, enemies will raise in difficulty in New Game Plus but will drop better items and more money when defeated.

Is there a New Game Plus Plus mode in Sekiro Shadows Die Twice?

We’re not sure yet if this title has New Game ++ like previous From Software games have had. We’d almost bet on it, but until we complete our second playthrough, we can’t be sure.