Box art - Octopath Traveler

Octopath Traveler Steam Unlock Time

With the previously Switch-exclusive JRPG coming to PC, we should start looking ahead to the Octopath Traveler Steam unlock time. After all, the platform can be a fickle beast when it comes to releasing games at midnight. The Square Enix JRPG, which originally released in 2018 is heading to PC (specifically Steam) on June 7. Here’s when you can start playing Octopath Traveler on Steam, and we’ll also look at whether you can preload it ahead of the big day.

When is the Octopath Traveler Steam unlock time?

octopath traveler steam unlock time

With no official Square Enix confirmation on the horizon, the only indication we currently have for an Octopath Traveler Steam unlock time currently is the game’s store page.

According to that, you’re looking at a 12 PM Eastern Steam unlock time. For the avoidance of doubt, that’s 9 AM Pacific. If you’re in the UK, that equates to 5 PM GMT on Friday, June 7. So, yeah, no midnight release.

Of course, plans may change. Sekiro: Shadows Die Twice is a recent infamous example of a game getting a staggered release time across Steam but, as of writing, the store’s countdown clock is pointing to the times above being correct. Here’s hoping we can get a blanket midnight release no matter your region instead.

Can I preload Octopath Traveler on PC?

octopath traveler steam unlock time

Unfortunately, it doesn’t appear that you can. You’re able to pre-order Octopath Traveler on Steam, but there’s no way to download it ahead of time. Even if you could, Steam tends to unspool and unpackage the game upon release anyway so you’d have to, essentially, download it twice.

It’s a minor annoyance but, with the download only taking up 5 GB of space, the install should be complete in no time at all, download speed permitting. Then you’ll be free to try out one of last year’s most underrated gems.