World of Warcraft Classic server launch times | WoW Classic unlock time, which server to choose

The moment many WoW players have been waiting for is upon us. World of Warcraft Classic is just a few hours away allowing anyone with a subscription to the MMORPG access to “Vanilla” WoW. As such, many players have already populated the servers with much of them already filled to capacity. If you want to be among the first in the queue, you are going to want to know the World of Warcraft Classic server launch times. This guide will go through just that, as well as finding the quickest way to start your adventure in Azeroth.

World of Warcraft Classic server launch times | WoW Classic unlock time

World of Warcraft Classic server launch times

Depending on where you live will determine when you can begin playing World of Warcraft Classic. Although the release has widely been advertised as August 27, it actually unlocks today, August 26, if you are in the Americas. Here is the full breakdown of when World of Warcraft Classic will unlock in each region.

  • Americas: 3:00 PM PDT/ 6:00 PM EDT on August 26, 2019
  • Europe: 12:00 AM CEST on August 27, 2019
  • Taiwan: 6:00 AM CST on August 27, 2019
  • Korea: 7:00 AM KST on August 27, 2019
  • ANZ (Australia): 8:00 AM AEST on August 27, 2019
  • UTC (Coordinated Universal Time): 10:00 PM UTC on August 26, 2019

The map above, which was shared by Blizzard Entertainment, also gives a good idea of when you can expect to play World of Warcraft Classic in your region. There is also a line straight down the middle that indicates which regions will see it on August 26 and which will see it on August 27.

ALSO: World of Warcraft Classic skeletons will vanish to avoid ‘hate speech’

World of Warcraft Classic server launch times | Which server should you choose

World of Warcraft Classic server launch times

While there are quite a few servers to choose from, many of them have been filled to capacity with players excited to go back to World of Warcraft as it was in 2006. The reason the servers were filled so fast is due to how larger server capacity was compared to how it is today. Blizzard Entertainment is attempting to create an authentic experience, including how many people can be on a server at one time.

Of course, this will lead long server queue times for servers that have a high population. However, Blizzard Entertainment has recently added more servers to World of Warcraft Classic that will allow players to get into the action right away. If you are unsure what kind of realm type you want to join, you can check out our beginner’s guide to World of Warcraft Classic. Here are all the servers, as well as their type and how populated they are as of this writing:

United States Servers, Realm Types, and Population

  • Old Blanchy: Normal, “Recommended”
  • Westfall: Normal, “Recommended”
  • Bigglesworth: PVP, Medium
  • Blameux: PVP, Medium
  • Incendius: PVP, Medium
  • Bloodsail Buccaneers: RP, High
  • Grobbulus: RPPVP, High
  • Skeram: PVP, High
  • Atiesh: Normal, FULL
  • Faerlina: PVP, FULL
  • Fairbanks: PVP, FULL
  • Herod: PVP, FULL
  • Mankrik: Normal, FULL
  • Myzrael: Normal, FULL
  • Pagle: Normal, FULL
  • Stalagg: PVP, FULL
  • Thalnos: PVP, FULL
  • Whitemane: PVP, FULL

Oceanic Servers, Realm Types, and Population

  • Remulos: Normal, Medium
  • Arugal: PVP, High

So, you’re probably wondering which of these servers should you choose? It depends on what kind of experience you are looking for. If you just want to see what World of Warcraft looked like over ten years ago, I recommend just hopping on to a medium or “recommended” population server. By doing so, you will expedite your queue time if there is one at all.

However, if you are looking to play beyond level 60 and check out end game content, there are perks to joining a “full” or “high” population server. You will have plenty of people available looking to run dungeons or raids. Also, the chances of the Auction House actually being a useful tool is much higher with people actually shaping its economy. However, you will potentially experience incredibly long server queue times.