Box art - Mario Kart Tour

Mario Kart Tour release time | When does Mario Kart Tour go live?

Like a mustachioed plumber on a go-kart, Mario Kart Tour is fast approaching. DeNA’s latest Nintendo project brings the free-to-start Mario Kart title to iOS and Android devices, allowing for colorful kart racing on wherever you go. As with other Nintendo mobile games, the Mario Kart Tour release time is highly anticipated by some. This guide covers the Mario Kart Tour release date and everything you can do to make sure you get your hands on the game as soon as possible.

Mario Kart Tour | Release date and time

Mario Kart Tour launch time release date

Mario Kart Tour is just around the corner, releasing on Wednesday, September 25. The game will be playable early in the morning for U.S. users, launching at 4 a.m. ET (1 a.m. PT, 3 a.m. CST). Since Mario Kart Tour is launching simultaneously in the U.S. and Europe, European users will be able to play the game at 10 a.m. CEST (9 a.m. BST).

ALSO: Mario Kart Tour Unlock Characters | Musician Mario and Pauline

As a free-to-start game, Mario Kart Tour will be free to download from the Apple App Store and Google Play Store. Of course, this means you’ll run into Mario Kart Tour microtransactions, as with many other mobile titles. Although the game’s App Store page includes a list of in-app purchases, including a “Ruby x135” purchase for $70, we won’t know for sure how these affect gameplay until the game launches.

Mario Kart Tour | Pre-load and pre-order

Mario Kart Tour Grand Stars

If you’re itching to play the game as soon as possible, there’s good news: Mario Kart Tour can be preordered on both the App Store and Google Play. This won’t preload the game, but heading to either store and “purchasing” the free preorder can help ensure Mario Kart Tour begins downloading as soon as it goes live. To make sure it downloads automatically, you may have to adjust your device settings to enable automatic downloads. This way, even if you’re asleep at the time (as you likely will be if you’re a U.S. user), your phone can make sure the game is playable right when you wake up.