Box art - Dragon Ball Z Kakarot

Dragon Ball Z Kakarot Sagas | Are the Saiyan, Frieza, Android, Cell, and Buu Sagas in the game?

If you’re a massive Dragon Ball fan, you’re probably wondering which Sagas are in Dragon Ball Z Kakarot. Many DBZ games in the past have only gone up to a certain point in the series, leaving fans hanging. Fortunately, DBZ Kakarot doesn’t have this problem.

Which Sagas are in Dragon Ball Z Kakarot?

The entirety of the story shown in the DBZ manga and anime is retold in Dragon Ball Z Kakarot. That means you get to experience the following sagas in the game:

  • Saiyan Saga
  • Frieza Saga
  • Android Saga
  • Cell Saga
  • Buu Saga

This is a big game too, so you’ll see a lot of detail in each saga that hasn’t been available in a Dragon Ball game before. However, the developers declined to put any of the filler content from the anime in this game. So, you won’t play through the Garlic Jr. Saga between the Frieza and Android Sagas, unfortunately. Nothing from the movies is included either, so no Broly, sorry.

Dragon Ball Z Kakarot Saiyan Saga

Is any content from Dragon Ball Super in Dragon Ball Z Kakarot?

DBZ Kakarot is strictly concerned with content from DBZ. So, while you might meet some characters from Dragon Ball, they’re strictly sidequest material. The game ends with the conclusion of the Buu Saga, and so there’s no Beerus, Whis, Super Saiyan Gods, or anything like that.

It’s entirely possible that DLC may include scenarios, concepts, and characters from Dragon Ball Super, or maybe even Dragon Ball GT. However, upon release, it’s all about DBZ.

Are there any alternate history scenarios in Dragon Ball Z Kakarot?

Unlike the Xenoverse series, DBZ Kakarot plays the canon completely straight. The developers painstakingly recreated the experience from the original anime and manga. So, for example, you don’t even have access to Super Saiyan forms that weren’t available to the characters during the run of DBZ. That means Goku can go SSJ3, Gohan can go SSJ2, but Vegeta is stuck at SSJ.