How to stop people downloading your TikTok videos | Make your account private

If you want your account to remain private, without fear of people downloading and sharing your content, find out how to stop people downloading your TikTok videos right here in this guide. Below, we’ll let you in on how to block video downloads on TikTok. Read on to discover how to make your TikTok account private, to stop anyone from downloading your videos and sharing them without permission.

How to stop people downloading your TikTok videos

how to stop people downloading your TikTok videos

If you’re fed up of or don’t want people to download your TikTok videos, you’ll be glad to hear that blocking everyone from downloading your videos is easy. You can simply toggle video downloading on or off for everyone. It doesn’t seem you can make it so your friends can download your videos, unfortunately. It’s either everyone can or cannot download your TikTok videos.

ALSO: When is the best time to post on TikTok?

Follow these steps to discover how to stop people downloading your TikTok videos:

  • Open TikTok
  • Head onto your Profile screen
  • Click on the three-dots icon that should be in the top-right of the screen
  • Select ‘Privacy and Settings’
    • Choose ‘Privacy and Safety’
  • Select ‘Allow Download’ from the list of available options
  • Set ‘Allow Download’ to ‘Off’ to stop everyone from downloading your TikTok videos

Following these steps, the download option should now be disabled. People should no longer be given the option to download your videos.

How to make your TikTok account private

If you don’t want randomers to watch your TikTok videos, you can make your account private. This will make it so only followers you approve can follow you, view your videos, and see what you’ve liked. Making your account private, however, will turn auto-syncing to other apps off, so do bear that in mind if you’ve set auto-syncing up.

Follow these steps to make your TikTok account private:

  • Open TikTok
  • Jump to your Profile screen
  • Tap the three-dot icon in the top-right hand of the screen
  • Select ‘Privacy and Settings’
    • Select ‘Privacy and Safety’
  • Tap on ‘Private account’ to make your account private