How to change your Snapchat username in 2020

If you’re unhappy with your username on the app, this guide will let you in on how to change your Snapchat username in 2020. Below, we’ll tell you the answer to “can you change your Snapchat username?” Read on to discover whether you can change your username on Snapchat or not, as of 2020. We’ll also let you in on how to change your Snapchat display name in 2020 below. Find out how to change your name on the app for everyone to see.

How to change your Snapchat username in 2020

how to change your Snapchat username in 2020

You cannot change your Snapchat username in 2020. It would seem that you were never able to change your username in Snapchat. We’d recommend, therefore, that you create a username you will be happy with. You can’t change it, aside from deleting your account and starting a new one. Then, though, you’ll lose your Memories and Snapstreaks, as these cannot be carried over between new accounts. Make sure you’re happy with your Snapchat username when you create your account because you’re going to be stuck with it. You can, however, change your display name on Snapchat whenever you want to.

ALSO: How to reverse a video on Snapchat (2020)

How to change your Snapchat display name in 2020

While you cannot change your username on Snapchat, you can change your display name. Thankfully, too, changing your display name is simple and can be done as many times as you like.

Follow these steps to discover how to change your Snapchat display name in 2020:

  • Open Snapchat
  • Jump onto the ‘My Profile’ screen
  • Open Settings (the gear icon)
  • Head onto the ‘Name’ setting within the ‘My Account’ section
  • Tap on your display name (name above your username)
  • Enter in your new display name and save

As long as your new display name doesn’t break any community guidelines (don’t include symbols, swearwords, that sort of thing), you’ll be good to go. Do bear in mind, though, that anyone who added you before your new display name will still see your old one listed. Anyone, too, who has you as a saved contact in their phone will see you listed under the same name they’ve saved your contact details under. Only you and your new followers (post display name change) will see your new Snapchat display name.