Box art - NieR: Automata

NieR: Automata A Guide To Which Difficulty You Should Play On

In Nier: Automata there are huge consequences for which difficulty you choose to play on. The jump in challenge between each is extraordinary, so making the right choice early on is pivotal to your enjoyment.

In total, there are four difficulties, as follows:
  • Easy
  • Normal
  • Hard
  • Very Hard

It is suggested that you play on Normal the first time around. Although some consider it too easy toward the latter parts of the game, this is a game that encourages multiple playthrough due to its 26 endings. You will have plenty of opportunity to test your skill level later.

One of the primary reasons for recommending Normal is that Hard is a huge leap in challenge that is extremely frustrating during the early portion of the game, particularly the first hour where there are no save spots available until after defeating the first boss.

There is also an Easy mode available which effectively plays the game for you, emphasizing the story and presentation over gameplay. This is recommended for players who don't enjoy a sense of challenge, or may have disabilities that make the game much harder to begin with.

Check Out More NieR: Automata Coverage: