The Last Remnant Will Be Delisted From Steam Soon

Square Enix has announced that The Last Remnant Steam edition will get delisted from the platform very soon, and will no longer be available for sale. Anyone who buys the game now will continue to own it and have The Last Remnant in their Steam library to download and play at any time. This is much like with the recent delisting of the Marvel Ultimate Alliance games from online marketplaces by publisher Activision.

Unlike with Activision however, Square Enix has at least been kind enough to tell customers well in advance about The Last Remnant getting delisted and removed from sale. They made the announcement on the game’s Steam pageThe Last Remnant will get removed from sale at the following times and dates:

  • Japan region: Wednesday 5th September, approximately 2:00 (JST)
  • NA region: Tuesday 4th September, approximately 10:00(PDT)
  • EU region: Tuesday 4th September, approximately 17:00(GMT)

So it’s definitely going to happen next month, in just under two weeks. Where things get murkier is why Square Enix is choosing to delist The Last Remnant in the first place. Unlike Activision and Marvel, there are no licensing issues to speak of, and not only is the PC version actually quite a good port, it actually features numerous improvements over the Xbox 360 version.

The Last Remnant was released in 2009 on PC and 2008 on Xbox 360, and was part of Microsoft’s drive to push the Xbox brand into Japan with more games to appeal to the Japanese audience, along with other big JRPGs such as Blue Dragon and Lost Odyssey. It was made by developers who’d worked on the SaGa and Final Fantasy games, and was the first Square Enix game to use the Unreal Engine. A PS3 version was planned for later but then cancelled, which may have been due to either sales or the game’s reception.

If you want to own The Last Remnant, we suggest you pick it up now, because in two weeks it’ll be gone forever.