Tetris 99 Maximus Cup tournament announced

Tetris is reinventing itself, from Tetris Effect late last year to the launch of its take on a battle royale game last month, Tetris 99. The modern reimaging of the popular block dropping game continues with a Tetris 99 Maximus Cup tournament. The Maximus Cup is an online event that anyone can join and tasks players with winning as many games as possible a weekend.

The Tetris 99 Maximus Cup tournament begins on March 8 at 5 AM PT/8 AM ET/2 PM BST and concludes March 10 at 11:59 PM PT/2:59 AM ET/8:59 AM BST. Participants in the tournament must win as many Tetris 99 games as possible and will be greeted with “TETRIS MAXIMUS” upon a victory. The top 999 players within the time period will be rewarded with 999 My Nintendo Gold Points. The amount is equivalent a prize pool of close to $10,000.

The Tetris 99 Maximus tournament is only open to legal residents of the United States, Canada, and Mexico. Those in the United Kingdom shouldn’t feel left out, however, as residents there will be getting their own version of the tournament called the Tetris 99 Grand Prix. The grand prix runs from March 8 at 1 PM BST to March 11 at 6:59 AM BST. The prize for the UK version is also 999 Gold Points, again adding up to around $10,000.

Tetris 99 was announced at last month’s Nintendo Direct and is a free-to-play game for those subscribed to Nintendo Switch Online. The game invites players to experience battle royale in the Tetris universe. In a recent Don’t @ Me, we argued that Tetris 99 may be the best battle royale of them all.

The announcement of the Tetris 99 Maximus Cup tournament follows multiple other competitive play announcements from popular games. Fortnite recently announced their Fortnite World Cup 2019, which features a prize pool of $100,000,000. Whereas, FIFA announced its collaboration with EA, the FIFA eNations Cup.