SNK 40th Anniversary Collection Xbox One version coming next week with bonus sports favorite

Over the past few months, SNK fans enjoyed the 40th Anniversary Collection on PlayStation 4 and Nintendo Switch. But now Xbox One owners will get a turn with a home run of a bonus. The SNK 40th Anniversary Collection Xbox One version will come out on May 3 and will be priced at $39.99 and has all the same hit titles we’ve seen in prior releases. But it’ll also include both the U.S. and Japanese versions of the NES game Baseball Stars to boot.

“For the first time, the hit baseball game, Baseball Stars, is included as part of the collection, with both Japanese and North American versions included!” the company noted in its press release and on the Microsoft listing.

The game will still have lots of other titles:

  • Alpha Mission
  • AthenaCrystalis
  • Ikari Warriors
  • Ikari Warriors 2: Victory Road
  • Ikari Warriors 3: The Rescue, Guerilla War
  • P.O.W.
  • Prehistoric Isle
  • Psycho Soldier
  • Street Smart
  • TNK 3
  • Vanguard
  • Chopper I
  • Fantasy
  • Munch Mobile
  • Sasuke vs. Commander
  • Time Soldiers
  • Beast Busters
  • Bermuda Triangle
  • Ozma Wars
  • Paddle Mania
  • S.A.R.
  • World Wars

This includes arcade and home (NES) versions of select titles, like Ikari and Iron Tank.

For good measure, there’s also an SNK Museum, where you can explore the history of the company with artwork and never-before-seen promotional assets. It’s a blast from the past for so many fans out there.

While Neo-Geo games aren’t here — they’re part of the Arcade Archives collection at the moment – there’s still much to try. We gave the game high marks in our review. In it, we say, “This all comes from a passion to keep as much this industry’s history alive as possible, and it all shines through in the final product.” This holds true for both the PS4 and Switch versions, so it will likely stay the same for the Xbox One version as well.

No word yet if Baseball Stars will be a downloadable add-on to the other versions. It’s only on Xbox One for now.