New Call of Duty reveal confirmed for this week

With the time ticking down to E3 2019, a few publishers seem to want to get their surprise announcements out of the way first, presumably in case they get swallowed up during the news barrage during the exposition itself. This is apparently true for even such titans as the latest Call of Duty, which Activision has announced will be unveiled this week, well before E3. The new Call of Duty reveal will happen tomorrow, May 30, at 10:00 a.m. PT.

This news had already been rumored this week, with the official Call of Duty social media channels on Twitter, Facebook and Instagram all being marked as “Going Dark,” suggesting that the developers were all gearing up for a major announcement. Of course, this could only be the new Call of Duty game, and the confirmation was sent out on Twitter (again with the message, “Going Dark”) to say that there would be a big reveal tomorrow at 10:00 PT/13:00 ET/18:00 BST, so almost exactly 24 hours after the tweet went out.

The video is rather abrupt, with a few snapshots of images and a female voice which says, “I’ve got a problem. They could be anywhere. When can you brief?” This is followed by the time and date for the game’s proper reveal tomorrow.

While the confirmation doesn’t specifically say what the new Call of Duty will be called, the current strong rumor (that has been backed up by a few sources) is that it will be both a new entry in the Modern Warfare saga, and will be simply known as Call of Duty: Modern Warfare. This will, of course, make referring to the game slightly difficult, as when most fans mention “Modern Warfare,” it’s shorthand for 2007’s Call of Duty 4. The game is also being developed by series creators Infinity Ward, whose last title was 2016’s space-based Infinite Warfare.

We’ll know more about the upcoming Call of Duty reveal by this time tomorrow.