Need For Speed Heat Cross-Play brings racers together in final update

Get ready to race with your friends: a Need For Speed Heat Cross-Play update is on the way. This brand-new update to Need For Speed Heat will finally let players on the PC, PS4, and Xbox One play against one another if they want to — and it’s also going to be the very last update for this rebellious racing game.

“At Criterion, we’ve always believed that games are better with friends,” said Criterion Games General Manager Matt Webster in a press release. “We don’t want your platform of choice to be a barrier for that experience. So we’re thrilled to let you all know that on June 9, Need for Speed Heat will be the first EA title to offer cross-play, meaning that players – regardless of their platform – can jump into Palm City together as one, united community.”

ALSO: New Battlefield 5 login reward has broken (again)

This Need For Speed Heat Cross-Play update is going to be launching in a different order than previous updates. The Xbox One will get it first, then the PS4, and finally the PC. Console players will need around 7 GB of space on their hard drive and the PC update will clock in at a little over 1 GB.

Need For Speed Heat Cross-Play car rear

Need For Speed Heat Cross-Play will be an entirely optional experience for the crazy street racing community. Players will be prompted to turn it on once the update has been installed and you can turn this new option on or off at any time in the privacy settings via the game menu. Once its activated, you can create a party with friends across all three major platforms (provided that they have enabled Cross-Play as well, of course.)

When does the Need For Speed Heat Cross-Play update launch?

  • Xbox One
    • June 9, 2020, at 12:00 AM PDT (Pacific Time)
    • June 9, 2020, at 3:00 AM EDT (Eastern Time)
    • June 9, 2020, at 9:00 AM BST (British Time)
  • PS4
    • June 9, 2020, at 1:00 AM PDT (Pacific Time)
    • June 9, 2020, at 4:00 AM EDT (Eastern Time)
    • June 9, 2020, at 10:00 AM BST (British Time)
  • PC (via Origin and Steam)
    • June 9, 2020, at 2:00 AM PDT (Pacific Time)
    • June 9, 2020, at 5:00 AM EDT (Eastern Time)
    • June 9, 2020, at 11:00 AM BST (British Time)

The ability to play across platforms is certainly a welcome change, but this new Need For Speed Heat update is also bittersweet; this will be the final update for this racing game as Criterion begins work on its next project. That new game is, of course, a new entry in the Need For Speed franchise, and we’ll be seeing more about it in 2020’s EA Play event.