Box art - Fortnite

Fortnite Blast Off: What Happened in the June 30 Rocket Event?

We waited, and waited, and waited. And we weren’t disappointed. Fortnite Blast Off aimed for the heavens and, instead, shook up the landscape perhaps a little bit more than we were expecting. The rocket launch was always going to be an explosive end to Fortnite Season 4 but, with Fortnite Season 5 just on the horizon, it remains to be seen just how much has changed.

Fortnite Blast Off: What Happened?

As players gathered around Snobby Shores (some, hilariously, tried to build over the rocket launch), the rocket went into the air and exploded mid-flight. Debris flooded the map, with several divots/craters being formed. There was also a separate chunk of the rocket that flew off from Snobby Shores and towards Anarchy Acres.

Most interestingly, however, a crack in the sky opened up. Leaving a blue, piercing forked pattern across the clouds, the rocket ended up disappearing into what seems to be another dimension. After superheroes, are we getting a proper extraterrestrial threat coming to Fortnite?

Fortnite Blast Off: Start Time

If you missed it, then you missed it. Sorry about that. The Fortnite Blast Off rocket launch was a one-time-only deal that kicked off at 10:30am PST/1:30pm EST/6:30pm BST on every server and match in the world. You can catch footage of it above, however.

Fortnite Blast Off: Changes to Map

The missile hit Anarchy Acres, with a giant blue crack in the sky, with possibly a portal to another dimension, also opening. There were also craters appearing in the map thanks to the Fortnite Blast Off event. There has been no changes to Tilted Towers, Loot Lake, or any of the other rumored shifts in the map. The biggest change, by far, is the potential one in the sky. What that means for Fortnite Season 5 is anyone’s guess, but it sure looks interesting.