Box art - Overwatch

Overwatch Finals 2018: How to Watch, Schedule, Who’s Competing?

One of the premiere esports events of the year, the Overwatch Finals 2018, is just around the corner. There’s a whole lot to take in: the teams, the format, the schedule, and even how to watch the series isn’t as straightforward as you might think. Thankfully, we’ve laid it all out for you below in an easy-to-digest format.

What is the Overwatch Finals 2018 Event and Who’s Competing?

The climax of the Overwatch League’s major tournament, the Overwatch Finals 2018 aims to crown the best team in the world, having whittled competitors down through several stages and playoffs until only two remained.

So, who are they? In one corner we have the Philadelphia Fusion and, in the other, my homeboys London Spitfire. No bias, but I hope they win.

They’ll face each other in the Grand Finals over two days, with three rounds of best-of-five matches. The first team to two rounds will be the first-ever winners of the Overwatch finals.

When is the Overwatch Finals 2018?

The Overwatch Finals 2018 event will take place across Friday, July 27 and Saturday, July 28 at the Barclays Centre in New York. Fancy.

Full Schedule of Overwatch Finals 2018

  • Round One: Philadelphia Fusion vs. London Spitfire (July 27: 4 p.m. Pacific/7 p.m. EDT July 28: Midnight BST)
  • Round Two: Philadelphia Fusion vs. London Spitfire (July 28: 1 p.m. Pacific/4 p.m. EDT 9 p.m. BST)
  • Round Three: Philadelphia Fusion vs. London Spitfire (July 28: 3 p.m. Pacific/6 p.m. EDT 11 p.m. BST)

How to Watch Overwatch Finals 2018

As well as your usual haunts, the Overwatch League Twitch page, the Overwatch League website and MLG.com, you’ll also be able to watch the Overwatch Finals 2018 on some television networks in the US. Details are as follows, via Overwatch League:

‘Matches will also be broadcast live on ESPN and Disney XD (Friday), and on ESPN3 and Disney XD (Saturday). ESPN2 will re-air the Grand Finals on Sunday at 6 p.m. PDT, and ABC and ESPN3 will air a highlights show on Sunday at noon PDT.’