Box art - Destiny 2

Destiny 2 August Roadmap: When is the Weapon Slot Changes Release Date?

Sun’s out, guns out. Literally. That’s because Bungie is bringing the summer fun to their FPS, as outlined by the Destiny 2 August roadmap. Included in the re-shuffle since their last developmental roadmap is a new weapon slot changes release date, so we’ll take a look at that down below in more detail, too.

What is the Destiny 2 August Roadmap?

As you can see above, the Destiny 2 August roadmap is a series of rejigs centered around August 28. While new additions such as Milestone Updates, Director Updates and Heroic Story Missions haven’t moved from their original launch date, there has been plenty of changes since Bungie’s original April roadmap.

As you can see, weapon slot changes, bulk shader deletion and a 40% increase in vault slots from 300 to 500 have all been added to that date.

What’s the Weapon Slot Changes Release Date?

Mark it on your calendars: the weapon slot changes are coming to Destiny 2 on August 28. Expect the update to drop as per the game’s typical reset time at 10 a.m. Pacific/1 p.m. EDT/6 p.m. BST with everything included in the August roadmap rolling out soon after that goes live.

What are the Destiny 2 Weapon Slot Changes?

While the likes of rocket launchers and grenade launchers will remain power weapons, most of the other weapons in-game will have a Kinetic or Energy slot that allows you to pick any weapon (even the same weapon) and place them in one of two slots, as long as they are separately Kinetic and Energy.

For example, you might get a handgun in a drop that’s Kinetic and, later in the day, you get the Energy version of that very same handgun. Previously, you couldn’t use both but, from August 28, you’ll be able to equip both and use them on the fly. Perfect for those who have a real attachment to certain weapons.