Box art - Destiny 2

Destiny 2 Hotfix 1.2.3.1: What’s Changed in the New Update?

Guardians the world over are getting primed and prepared for the Solstice of Heroes event coming to Destiny 2. In fact, even Bungie are getting in on the act because a Destiny 2 hotfix 1.2.3.1 will be in your download queues soon enough and will kickstart the game’s big summer event.

Destiny 2 Hotfix 1.2.3.1: What’s Changed in the New Update?

While there are no official patch notes for the 1.2.3.1 update (via Bungie), the minute update version number might give you some indication in just how small potatoes this hotfix is. In actuality, this Destiny 2 update is merely a formality for all players to be ready for Solstice of Heroes when it drops the very same day as the update. There’s no new content coming with this specific update; it’s just paving the way for one big content drop later in the day.

Destiny 2 Hotfix 1.2.3.1 Start Time and Server Downtime

The hotfix will arrive on July 31 at 9 a.m. Pacific/12 p.m. EDT/5 p.m. BST. From what moment, servers should be updating for roughly an hour, with players being able to play Destiny 2 again from 10 a.m. Pacific/1 p.m. EDT/6 p.m. BST.

If you’re still playing the game between that hour, Destiny 2 will prompt you to leave what you’re currently doing in-game so the hotfix can take effect but the servers won’t be going down.

Destiny 2 Hotfix 1.2.3.1: Will I Get Kicked?

If you’re still on Destiny 2 after the hour is up then there’s no two ways about it: you’re getting kicked and the hotfix is being forced through. It’s for the best, really, as you’ll then be able to fire the game back up and take part in the new Solstice of Heroes event, where you can even snag an official Bungie t-shirt for your troubles, as well as partake in a whole host of tasks new to the MMO.