Box art - Rocket League

Rocket League Rocket Pass Release Date: When Does Rocket Pass 1 Go Live?

It’s almost time for a grand, sweeping change to everyone’s favorite (okay, only) rocket-powered soccer car video game. The Rocket League Rocket Pass release date is nearly here and, with it, comes a whole host of new things to take into account when unlocking and buying new items. Rocket Pass 1, the first of the batch to enter the game, is right around the corner.

Rocket League Rocket Pass Release Date: When Does Rocket Pass 1 Go Live?

The Rocket League Rocket Pass release date is set in stone for September 5 at 10:00 a.m. PST/1:00 p.m. Eastern/6:00 p.m. BST. Once the clock ticks over, you’ll be able to fire up your client across Xbox One, PS4, PC, and Nintendo Switch and dive right into the free (and premium) goodies waiting for you in Rocket Pass 1.

What is a Rocket League Rocket Pass?

You may have heard of a little game called Fortnite, right? While Psyonix doesn’t outright emulate the Battle Pass included in the battle royale, it’s taken a few tips and served it up with a few subtle tweaks to make things equally interesting for those who want to keep Rocket League a micro-transaction free experience and for those who want to fork over a bit of extra cash for new items.

Essentially, players must continually play matches to rank up tiers. As per the Rocket League site there are no Fortnite-esque challenges in the game just yet but still plenty of things to get excited about. The free version only has 29 Tiers, while the premium version (which will set you back 10 keys at $9.99) has 70 and beyond. Levelling up each tier will earn you new rewards, though Premium Rocket Pass holders will have exclusive rights to some of the bigger and better items around, including car bodies and goal celebrations.

It promises to be a massive paradigm shift for a game that’s already undergone some major changes this week. What do you think of it? Let us know in the comments!