Box art - Call of Duty: Black Ops 4

Black Ops 4 Blackout Beta: How to Join

Starting this week, the Black Ops 4 Blackout Beta is sure to get tongues wagging when it comes to offering up the first real AAA battle royale alternative to the likes of Fortnite and PUBG. But how do you get a Black Ops 4 beta code? Below, we’ve listed the myriad ways you can join the Black Ops 4 Blackout Beta, no matter if you’re on PS4, Xbox One, or PC, so you won’t miss out.

Black Ops 4 Blackout Beta: How to Join

The easiest way to join the Black Ops 4 Blackout Beta is to pre-order the game digitally through your platform’s respective digital storefront. For Xbox One and PS4 that’s pretty self-explanatory but, for PC, it’s a little different: you need to pre-order through Blizzard’s Battle.net service. You can also pre-order through certain retailers, though Amazon is likely to your best (and cheapest) bet. Even then, that’s only getting you a spot in the Early Access Beta. The Open Beta starts a few days later.

Once that’s all done, you’ll either already be eligible for the Beta (if you’re bought through the official console or PC storefronts) you’ll be given your 13-digit beta code if you pre-ordered elsewhere.

Next, you’ll have to download the beta client, which will go live during the times listed below.

Black Ops 4 Blackout Beta: Where’s my Code?

If you haven’t got your code you should be doing one of two things: checking your receipt and/or checking your email. The Beta code should be right there and, if not, Activision Support recommends contacting the retailer you pre-ordered Black Ops 4 from.

Black Ops 4 Blackout Beta: Start Time and End Date

This is where things are less straightforward. The Black Ops 4 Blackout Beta start time differs according to the platform you’re on. Below is the list of start times and end dates for your convenience:

  • PlayStation 4: September 10 10:00 a.m. Pacific/1:00 p.m. Eastern/6:00 p.m. BST until September 17 10:00 a.m. Pacific/1:00 p.m. Eastern/6:00 p.m. BST
  • Xbox One: September 14 10:00 a.m. Pacific/1:00 p.m. Eastern/6:00 p.m. BST until 10:00 a.m. Pacific/1:00 p.m. Eastern/6:00 p.m. BST
  • PC (Early Access Beta): September 14 10:00 a.m. Pacific/1:00 p.m. Eastern/6:00 p.m. BST until September 15 10:00 a.m. Pacific/1:00 p.m. Eastern/6:00 p.m. BST
  • PC (Open Beta): September 15 10:00 a.m. Pacific/1:00 p.m. Eastern/6:00 p.m. BST until September 17

Black Ops 4 Blackout Beta: What’s Included?

Only one mode is available in the Black Ops 4 Blackout Beta and it’s, you guessed it, the battle royale-style Blackout mode. There will be no other modes playable during the Beta.