Box art - Borderlands 3

Borderlands 3 ECHOcast | How to install BL3 extension to get Twitch loot

Who wants some Borderlands 3 loot? If you answered yes, then the Borderlands 3 ECHOcast is how you’ll get it. Ahead of the game’s official gameplay reveal, find out how to install the Borderlands 3 extension to get yourself some Twitch loot with our Borderlands 3 ECHOcast guide.

Borderlands 3 ECHOcast | Watch the livestream

Borderlands 3 ECHOcast

The first thing worth knowing about the Borderlands 3 ECHOcast is that you’ll have to tune in to the official gameplay reveal livestream. You can watch it on the Borderlands Twitch channel on Wednesday, May 1 at 10 AM PDT (1 PM EDT, 6 PM BST, and Thursday, May 2 at 3 AM AEST).

Borderlands 3 ECHOcast | How to install the Twitch loot extension

Borderlands 3 ECHOcast

Let’s tell you how to install the Twitch loot extension using the Borderlands 3 ECHOcast livestream. First off, you’ll need to set up a Gearbox Shift account if you haven’t done so already. To do this, head here and click “create new account” to sign up. You can set up an account using your email address, or any of the icons displayed on that page.

You can then link your Twitch and Shift accounts. Head to the “settings” tab on your Shift profile page and click on the Twitch logo. Follow the on-screen instructions to link them together. Alternatively, you can sign in to your Shift profile and link them via the “gaming platforms” tab on the left side of the page. Click the “link” option under the Twitch logo here, and wait for the accounts to be synced.

You should then see version one of the ECHOcast Twitch extension pop up when the livestream begins. There might be a slight delay before it shows up due to the servers needing to connect to your accounts, so don’t worry if it doesn’t show up immediately.

Borderlands 3 ECHOcast | How to earn free loot

Borderlands 3 ECHOcast

To get free gear using the Borderlands 3 ECHOcast extension, you’ll need to concentrate on the livestream. At some point, the streamer you’re watching might come across a rare chest in-game. These Rare Chest Events give you the best possible chance of earning free loot, so pay attention.

Once a streamer opens a rare chest, you’ll have 30 seconds to opt into the event. After the 30 seconds are up, you’ll be notified if you’ve won the same loot that the streamer picked up during their playthrough. You’ll then have 30 seconds to pick which one item you want to receive.

The item will automatically be added to your Twitch-linked Shift account once chosen. You can collect it from your in-game inbox once Borderlands 3 is released on September 13.