Box art - Destiny 2

Destiny 2 Shadowkeep | Release date, returning characters, and more

Bungie has announced Destiny 2 Shadowkeep as the next big expansion coming to its MMORPG. Shadowkeep will be the first content that will be available on the free-to-play model, and you might have questions about it. If you want to learn about the Shadowkeep release date, returning characters, and much more, we’re here to help. Read our Destiny 2 Shadowkeep guide for everything worth knowing about the expansion.

Destiny 2 Shadowkeep release date

Destiny 2 Shadowkeep

The first thing you’ll want to know is the Destiny 2 Shadowkeep release date. The expansion is due to land on September 17, so it’s not that far away at all.

This will give Bungie enough time to iron out any last minute bugs and glitches for Shadowkeep ahead of launch and, hopefully, make the transition to its free-to-play model a lot easier.

Destiny 2 Shadowkeep | Returning characters and locations

Destiny 2 Shadowkeep

Destiny 2 Shadowkeep will see Guardians make a return to the moon. New “nightmares” are said to have emerged from the dark depths of our long forgotten satellite, and you’ll be tasked with uncovering what’s happened.

You won’t be alone in your attempts to try and tackle this enemy either. Eris Morn, a Hunter and member of the Hidden, will be a familiar returning face to anyone who has played Destiny 2 religiously over the past 18 months. The expert on Hive lore will allegedly have awoken something terrible beneath the lunar surface, and she can’t control what it is by herself.

You’ll be tasked with heading into a mysterious underground citadel to help Eris defeat this force of nature and prevent it from spreading out into the wider Solar system and galaxy.

Destiny 2 Shadowkeep | Game editions

Destiny 2 Shadowkeep

As you’ve probably expected, there are a few Destiny 2 Shadowkeep editions that you can buy ahead of its release. These three versions are the standard, digital deluxe, and collector’s editions.

Pre-orders are available for each edition now. If you want a rundown of what you’ll get with each version, you can do so by reading our pre-order guide here.