“Can you screenshot on Snapchat without them knowing?” is a common question that many users may find themselves asking. With Snapchat encouraging its users to be rebellious and bold with their images, with the promise that photos and videos will be deleted after X number of seconds, it would be especially unsettling to suddenly learn that viewers may have been saving screenshots without your knowledge. Here’s what you need to know about using Snapchat safely.
Can you screenshot on Snapchat without the other person knowing?
When someone uses a normal method of screenshotting on Snapchat, the photo/video owner is notified. It’s made very clear when a viewer screenshots in the usual way.
While many users are aware of Snapchat’s screenshotting etiquette and won’t be so rude as to screenshot without permission, there are those who will happily screenshot awkward and/embarrassing moments.
Whether it’s in your friend group, or to a wider group of people, it’s never nice seeing the “Screenshotted” message pop up. If you send a photo or video on Snapchat, it’s usually safe in the knowledge that the media is temporary, with it becoming unviewable after a certain amount of time.
We’d recommend that you avoid posting anything on Snapchat that you are afraid will be made public. Those who are determined to screenshot without users knowing can use a variety of screen capture apps, as well as the old fashioned method of recording the screen with another camera.
Yes, it’s creepy as hell, but that’s how some people operate. Again, we’d advise being extremely cautious when sharing images and videos online, whether that’s through the Snapchat app or elsewhere.
The answer to “Can you screenshot on Snapchat without them knowing?” is unfortunately a “Yes.” Please be careful with this app and you should still be able to have fun with it.